Jump to content



Photo

Star of Death + Gen Synth question


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 bakemono

bakemono

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 12 November 2013 - 10:28 PM

Hello,

I was wondering if someone more knowledgeable about this game could

help me with a question I have.

 

I have a warsun above Jord, ready to use Star of Death action card.

 

Can my opponents GF reanimate if I use this card, basically

canceling out the second half of the Star of Death card 

(radiated, neutralized planet)?  Or does the entire

effect of Star of Death take place, and then there

is nothing left for the GF to reanimate themselves on?

 

Thanks in advance for your thoughts!



#2 bakemono

bakemono

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 13 November 2013 - 12:06 AM

One small thing to note:

We are playing with the first expansion.  The reading of Star of Death is:

Destroy all Ground Forces, PDS, Space Docks on 1 planet in system with 1 of your War Suns. Then place Radiation Domain counter there. 

 

It has since been errated to include the phrase "convert the planet back to neutral status" or something like that.

We are not playing with the newest expansion, but should this matter when taking into account errated cards?

Also, would the original reading of Star of Death have the same effect, regardless of the change?

 

My hunch is that the card was errated to create the effect that was originally intended.  The planet is nuked,

everything on it dies, control of the planet is lost and it becomes radiated.  Gen Synth would not work, since 

the planet is radiated, thus a neutral planet.

 

Please let me know what you all think!



#3 robertcop2

robertcop2

    Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 13 November 2013 - 01:47 AM

You can use this rule, included in the Shattered section of the FAQ:

Q: Many different Political, Action, and Technology cards modify, set, or limit the same numerical variables in the game. For example, the political card “Humane Labor” lowers the Production limit of Space Docks, while the Tech Card “Enviro Compensator” increases it. In what order are multiple effects resolved that affect the same variable? A: First, all Political Cards, in the order that they entered the game, affect variables. Then your Technology cards affect the same variables (with multiple relevant Tech cards being resolved in an order of the owners choice), and at last, the Action Cards affect the variables, in the order that such Action Cards were resolved. In this way, “Humane Labor” lowers the production limit of Space Docks to 2, but the Tech “Enviro Compensator,” for example, would add one additional capacity for its owner (raising his limit to 3).

 

So in your case no matter what technology your opponent plays, the Star of Death action card will be resolved the latter.



#4 Nehkrimah

Nehkrimah

    Member

  • Members
  • 44 posts

Posted 14 November 2013 - 11:27 PM

I agree in this case that the planet should go neutral and no Gen Synth gets used.



#5 Orc Slaver

Orc Slaver

    Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 15 November 2013 - 04:08 PM

What if you use "Star of Death" on a non-home world? Would Gen Synthesis work then? If so, then their is a weird exception: you can use Gen Synthesis after "Star of Death" unless "Star of Death" is targeting your home world; then you can't use Gen Synthesis.



#6 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,628 posts

Posted 15 November 2013 - 06:56 PM

If ACs are resolved last (and specifically after Tech) then logically it doesn't matter what planet you're nuking with Star of Death.  Gen Synth is resolved "first" (at which time there are no destroyed GFs to revive, so nothing happens), and then SoD is resolved after that, destroying all GFs on the planet without any chance of revival.

 

By extension, any AC that kills GFs would be immune to Gen Synth because the AC is resolved last.  At least that's how I see it, according to this FAQ ruling.


  • Fnoffen likes this

#7 Orc Slaver

Orc Slaver

    Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 18 November 2013 - 07:50 AM

Except the FAQ ruling shouldn't apply to Star of Death and Gen Synthesis. The FAQ ruling deals very specifically with tech/political/action cards that "limit, set or modify numerical values". Gen Synthesis and Star of Death have nothing to do with numerical values.

 

 

 



#8 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,628 posts

Posted 19 November 2013 - 08:58 PM

Except the FAQ ruling shouldn't apply to Star of Death and Gen Synthesis. The FAQ ruling deals very specifically with tech/political/action cards that "limit, set or modify numerical values". Gen Synthesis and Star of Death have nothing to do with numerical values.

 

So, out of curiosity, are you arguing that the interpretation based on the FAQ answer is wrong and the GFs should be allowed to roll for revival?  Or are you just saying the FAQ answer is baseless but the final ruling is okay?

 

If the GFs get to roll, how do you handle the whole radiation token business?  The GFs roll for revival but then die again anyway due to the radiation token being on their homeworld?  Maybe surviving GFs somehow prevent the radiation token from being placed?

 

The FAQ may be specifically referring to numerical values, but I don't see any reason why the same logic shouldn't be used to resolve any conflicts between PCs, Tech and ACs.  Especially if there's nothing else in the rules to help determine the order of resolution.

 

I suppose, to be thoroughly complete about it though, we really should ask FFG to clarify.  No point trying to figure stuff out for ourselves.



#9 Orc Slaver

Orc Slaver

    Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 21 November 2013 - 07:21 AM

I don't think the FAQ ruling applies in this case. I think it is problematic to allow the ground forces to revive on the planet. But at the same time, it is problematic to disallow them to revive. Corey should probably rule on this. He will probably rule that you cannot revive ground forces on that planet but could revive them on another of your home planets if applicable.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS