Jump to content



Photo

Question about the rules for attacking using the knife's throw/ranged ability.


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 arlips

arlips

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 11 November 2013 - 05:41 PM

Normally the knife (at least I think it was the knife, correct me if I'm wrong please) is just melee, but it has an ability where you can drop it and do a check to perform a ranged attack, and the card tells you the damage. My question is, do you ignore the keeper drawing the battle card because of this? I'm assuming you don't draw a battle card and just go by the check on the knife card, right?



#2 demozon

demozon

    Member

  • Members
  • 61 posts

Posted 12 November 2013 - 04:56 AM

The Knife can either be used as a sharp melee attack - with combat cards as usual.

 

AND it can be used as a card ability, where you do a dexterity test to damage a monster. Since the card ability action is not an attack, the investigator may be subject to an evade test.



#3 mrhinelander

mrhinelander

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 30 November 2013 - 01:26 AM

My interpretation is no evade test with a knife throw. P. 15, "Attacking a monster does not require making an evade test. This attack may be unarmed, with a weapon, or with an "attack" Spell card. This attack does not need to target a monster in the investigator's space."

#4 demozon

demozon

    Member

  • Members
  • 61 posts

Posted 01 December 2013 - 04:43 AM

This has been discussed several times before, with either typewriter, holy water or brass knuckles. All of these have Card Ability actions which are _not_ attacks, and therefore should incur an evade test.

 

However, Call of the Wild introduced an Attack-trait that specifically makes the card ability actions evade-free. Perhaps the knife and some other cards will get that trait in a revised version...



#5 mrhinelander

mrhinelander

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 01 December 2013 - 04:11 PM

demozon, noted, thanks.  I'll search for those other posts, do you have any links in case I miss some?  

 

Thanks, Mack



#6 demozon

demozon

    Member

  • Members
  • 61 posts

Posted 02 December 2013 - 07:54 AM

I don't have a heap of links, but one I found pointed me to a relevant part of the rules.

 

Call of the Wild, page 9, under "Attacking Allies"

Cards that specifically affect monsters or investigators cannot be used against allies. For example, the special Action of the “Lantern,” “Knife,” “Guitar,” “Holy Water,” “Dynamite,” and “Typewriter” cannot be used against allies because they specifically target monster figures (and are not attacks).

 

The most relevant part to take from this is the last part; the card ability actions are not attacks.


Edited by demozon, 02 December 2013 - 07:55 AM.





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS