Jump to content



Photo

acces quest progress


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Cuendillar

Cuendillar

    Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 07 November 2013 - 09:56 AM

Hello,

I have some questions about quest progress. The question came up during Journey down Anduin. The card state players can not defeat this stage while any Hill Troll cards are in play.

Situation is Hill Troll is in play but with forest snare on it so it can not attack and thus we have time to built up attack force to defeat it. Meanwhile we have enough willpower to win during quest phase. Does the quest cards text be interrupted as we can not do progress yet until the Hill Troll is defeated or can we make progress? In that case what happens when we reach the 8 quest damage points needed? Where does the access damage go to, does it stack up and when the Hill Trol is defeated it goes over to the next main questcard 2a/b? Wih the access damage it could be completed right away as well?

#2 richsabre

richsabre

    Tea Drinker of the West

  • Members
  • 4,810 posts

Posted 07 November 2013 - 11:40 AM

the excess builds up until the troll is killed. you cannot go to 2b until it is dead. however unlike locations, progress from quest cards do not spill over

rich


My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

 


#3 Cuendillar

Cuendillar

    Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 07 November 2013 - 11:55 AM

Thank You for your reply Richsabre. Maybe you know the awnser on a progress related question as well. With Northern Trackers you can deal 1 progress token in lands in the staging area. Say the land has reached the max progress it can have. Do you resolve by discarding them immediately, before quest phase resolving so they don't count as threat strength or after it so they do still count but taken out after and thus take profit of it next round?

#4 richsabre

richsabre

    Tea Drinker of the West

  • Members
  • 4,810 posts

Posted 07 November 2013 - 12:02 PM

no problem :)

a location is discarded as soon as it has enough progress on it (unless it says otherwise)

so if a card needs 5 progress, and you have 4 at the start of the round. tracker then commits to quest giving 1 progress giving you the 5 you need. the card is discarded and does not count towards the quest threat that round

rich


My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

 


#5 Cuendillar

Cuendillar

    Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 07 November 2013 - 12:12 PM

Thank you for your quick reply Richsabre, I appreciate it.

I was playing with my brother and the first quest went well so when we were through the 3 parts we decided to continue with the second quest. We weren't sure how it works correctly. We kept the hits and resource tokens and cards in hand and allies played, as well as attachments. Creatures on table we took away and attachments on them discarded. Is this the correct way? As you awnsered any excess quest progress can not go to the new quest.

#6 richsabre

richsabre

    Tea Drinker of the West

  • Members
  • 4,810 posts

Posted 07 November 2013 - 12:33 PM

i am not sure if i have undertood you correctly here, but have you completed 'flies and spiders' quest and the went immediatly onto 'journey down the anduin' quest?

 

if so, then i am not sure, because i always reset everything after completing a quest and this is indeed what you usually do....unless you are playing nightmare/campaign mode, this way some aspects stay the same. i am unsure on the rules of nightmare mode as i never really play it

rich


Edited by richsabre, 07 November 2013 - 12:34 PM.

My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

 


#7 Cuendillar

Cuendillar

    Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 07 November 2013 - 01:20 PM

Yes we did complete flies and spiders and wanted to continue with journey down alduin. It went well so we well..we wanted to continue and think like you said it is nightmare mode. It is in the rulebook as nightmare but doesn't state really what stays and what not. So wanted to know if we did it correct like this. Normal mode all will reset and you play the new quest with all cards of you back in your deck and threat reset, no hits etc.

#8 richsabre

richsabre

    Tea Drinker of the West

  • Members
  • 4,810 posts

Posted 07 November 2013 - 01:45 PM

for nightmare mode i would recommend looking at the latest FAQ which is on the product page (under support i think) as nightmare mode has changed since the game came out

rich


My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

 


#9 Cuendillar

Cuendillar

    Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 07 November 2013 - 01:49 PM

Thank you Richsabre. Will do and when I have any other questions I know there is a good community here to ask them. Thanks again.
  • richsabre likes this

#10 richsabre

richsabre

    Tea Drinker of the West

  • Members
  • 4,810 posts

Posted 07 November 2013 - 01:55 PM

glad i could help :) happy gaming

rich


My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

 





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS