Jump to content



Photo

Please confirm : Red Viper F113


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Daenarys

Daenarys

    Member

  • Members
  • 341 posts

Posted 06 November 2013 - 05:04 PM

Just got into a debate with regards the Red Viper F113.

 

Scenario :

 

Red Viper is knelt with two gold on him.

 

During the challenge phase 1 gold discarded from him to stand and then a subsequent gold is discard to raise the claim on the current challenge.  Is this correct ?


Edited by Daenarys, 06 November 2013 - 05:22 PM.


#2 radiskull

radiskull

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,360 posts

Posted 06 November 2013 - 05:09 PM

How on earth was this a debate? This is exactly what the card says to do. I can think of literally no other interpretation.



#3 doulos2k

doulos2k

    Member

  • Members
  • 246 posts

Posted 06 November 2013 - 05:18 PM

Because that's not technically correct. You can only do this during a challenge because the card says to raise claim untilthe end of the current challengee.

Austin AGoT Players

http://agotaustin.com


#4 Daenarys

Daenarys

    Member

  • Members
  • 341 posts

Posted 06 November 2013 - 05:18 PM

Well i agree but the debate stemmed from the fact that the viper says 'until the end of the CURRENT challenge'.

 

Does this make sense


Edited by Daenarys, 06 November 2013 - 05:21 PM.


#5 JohnyNFullEffect

JohnyNFullEffect

    Member

  • Members
  • 45 posts

Posted 06 November 2013 - 05:50 PM

If you do this on defense you raise the claim for the opponent.

#6 doulos2k

doulos2k

    Member

  • Members
  • 246 posts

Posted 06 November 2013 - 06:11 PM

This is my (expanded) view on how this works...

 

This is a two-part effect, obviously. The first part can be triggered at any point during the challenges phase to stand a kneeling Viper.

 

The second part is the one that's trickier due to its specific verbiage. The second part can only be triggered under the following conditions:

  • There is currently a challenge underway (whether you're participating or not - we have to consider Melee here)
  • The Viper WAS kneeling and you've used one token to stand him in the SAME window

Then, and only then, can you discard that second token to raise the claim value on any player's plot card (again, this must be the SAME window where you discarded the first token).

 

Regarding defense... If you're taking the chance, you could do this on defense and raise the attacker's claim from 2 to 3 because you have Red Vengeance in hand and 2 influence available. Low down dirty trick... but this is Martell we're talking about.


Edited by doulos2k, 06 November 2013 - 06:12 PM.

  • mdc273 likes this

Austin AGoT Players

http://agotaustin.com


#7 Daenarys

Daenarys

    Member

  • Members
  • 341 posts

Posted 06 November 2013 - 06:14 PM

This is my (expanded) view on how this works...

 

This is a two-part effect, obviously. The first part can be triggered at any point during the challenges phase to stand a kneeling Viper.

 

The second part is the one that's trickier due to its specific verbiage. The second part can only be triggered under the following conditions:

  • There is currently a challenge underway (whether you're participating or not - we have to consider Melee here)
  • The Viper WAS kneeling and you've used one token to stand him in the SAME window

Then, and only then, can you discard that second token to raise the claim value on any player's plot card (again, this must be the SAME window where you discarded the first token).

 

Regarding defense... If you're taking the chance, you could do this on defense and raise the attacker's claim from 2 to 3 because you have Red Vengeance in hand and 2 influence available. Low down dirty trick... but this is Martell we're talking about.

 

 

PERFECT answer, thanks very much. This has really helped






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS