Jump to content



Photo

Are you "within 3 spaces" of yourself?


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 No Hero

No Hero

    Member

  • Members
  • 53 posts

Posted 04 November 2013 - 11:13 AM

Some skills or heroic abilities/feats specify that an ability affecting heroes within 3 spaces of yourself includes you, as an addendum, ie Alvric's ability and feat or the Spiritspeaker's Healing Rain.

 

Some skills or abilities/feats, otoh, omit this addendum, ie the Spiritspeaker's Tempest or the second part on the Champion's Inspiring Presence

 

Is it a simple omission in the second case, or am I meant to think that skills worded like that aren't benefitting yourself?

 

Related question: is Grisom in line of sight of himself for the purpose of his feat?



#2 mustardayonnaiz

mustardayonnaiz

    Member

  • Members
  • 124 posts

Posted 04 November 2013 - 11:49 AM

Yes. It was ruled unofficially(but from Justin Kemppainen) on BGG that breaking the rune skill would target the rune master and that skill says it requires line of sight.

So if the attack targets everything up to 3 spaces in your line of sight.

The attack targets the caster also.

The yes, you are in your own line of sight.



Inspiring presence says "including yourself)

#3 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 484 posts

Posted 04 November 2013 - 11:58 AM

Inspiring presence says "including yourself)

He was referring to the second half, which doesn't include that bit.

 

But yes, you are always "within X spaces" of yourself. (But you are not adjacent to yourself, which refers to exactly 1 space away)



#4 No Hero

No Hero

    Member

  • Members
  • 53 posts

Posted 04 November 2013 - 12:03 PM

Thanks to you both

So wait, a runemaster risks killing himself with Break the Rune?

And I thought it was subpar before!



#5 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 484 posts

Posted 05 November 2013 - 09:48 AM

So wait, a runemaster risks killing himself with Break the Rune?

 

FFG has said that technically, yes, that is the way it is written. They are looking at the possibility of an errata, but so far they haven't felt that it's necessarily underpowered enough to justify one.



#6 Gallows

Gallows

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,596 posts

Posted 07 November 2013 - 06:36 AM

Some skills or heroic abilities/feats specify that an ability affecting heroes within 3 spaces of yourself includes you, as an addendum, ie Alvric's ability and feat or the Spiritspeaker's Healing Rain.

 

Some skills or abilities/feats, otoh, omit this addendum, ie the Spiritspeaker's Tempest or the second part on the Champion's Inspiring Presence

 

Is it a simple omission in the second case, or am I meant to think that skills worded like that aren't benefitting yourself?

 

Related question: is Grisom in line of sight of himself for the purpose of his feat?

 

If you're not within 3 spaces of yourself, I suggest you call for a healer :-)


  • griton and No Hero like this




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS