Jump to content



Photo

Lair of the Wyrm and its various "people" tokens


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 No Hero

No Hero

    Member

  • Members
  • 54 posts

Posted 03 November 2013 - 05:07 PM

There's a fair number of quests in LotW that use tokens as various types of survivors or villagers, and the rules on them seem at least a bit fuzzy to me.

 

In Gold Digger, you have 4 miners that can only be attacked by Valyndra and take all effects from her attacks. Now, it doesn't specify that they are immune to conditions, and Valyndra can inflict Burning - but they don't get to activate! So can they burn, and would it be reasonable to state they do after the last hero's turn? And would they burn adjacent heroes?

Rude Awakening and its survivors are even worse. It doesn't specify that survivors are treated as heroes, but my gut instinct said they should - so I allowed my heroes to use Stoneskin on them, for example, and to pass through them while moving - or for the tokens, to pass through heroes. Similarly, I suppose I could use Truipwire on them (though I never needed to do that). Is that interpretation correct?

 

As for the innkeeper, it doesn't specify he's considered a hero as well - that raises the concern of barghest being the strongest possible group to leave inactive in the cottage, because they could howl, the innkeeper doesn't have any Will, and not having fatigue to suffer either he would take damage from the howl - is it valid? Come to think of it, can a barghests fatigue survivors with their howl?

 

Last vaguely related thing, because I don't have the book handy: I'm told on bgg that in this quest mosnters reinforce at the end of the OL turn - is that correct?



#2 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,675 posts

Posted 04 November 2013 - 07:51 AM

The rules for villagers and assorted other NPCs are defined by the quest.  They may well vary from one quest to another.  There is no "standard" set of rules for NPCs.

 

If the quest says to treat NPCs as heroes, then they are treated as heroes (and as figures), otherwise they are merely tokens.  Tokens do not block movement or LoS for anyone, unless of course the quest rules say so.

 

If an NPC is treated as a hero then he may be targeted by OL cards such as tripwire or monster abilities such as the barghest's Howl, yes.  The NPC would suffer damage because he has no fatigue to lose.  Only if the NPC is treated as a hero though.  If he's only a token, none of this stuff would be allowed to target him.

 

Last vaguely related thing, because I don't have the book handy: I'm told on bgg that in this quest mosnters reinforce at the end of the OL turn - is that correct?

 

I'm assuming that "this quest" refers to Rude Awakening, since that was the last quest you mentioned by name.  In this case, yes the Overlord reinforces at the end of his turn.  It says so in the "Reinforcements" section of the quest's rules.



#3 No Hero

No Hero

    Member

  • Members
  • 54 posts

Posted 04 November 2013 - 09:36 AM

Thanks Steve-O. Yes I was referring to that quest, and I completely missed that. My players are gonna be pissed! Better they never find out!

 

OTOH I allowed them to treat survivors as heroes when it was convenient for them so... Ah well, I guess I'll jsut suggest we replay the quest (or keep shut about it)



#4 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 496 posts

Posted 04 November 2013 - 11:47 AM

In Gold Digger, you have 4 miners that can only be attacked by Valyndra and take all effects from her attacks. Now, it doesn't specify that they are immune to conditions, and Valyndra can inflict Burning - but they don't get to activate! So can they burn, and would it be reasonable to state they do after the last hero's turn? And would they burn adjacent heroes?

 

Usually if the condition says that it affects them when they activate, if they don't activate, the condition just stays there until they do (or is useless.) Note that not all conditions have this restriction, so some may and some may not. I don't have Gold Digger's rules on me and I haven't scanned them yet, so it's hard to say.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS