Jump to content



Photo

Attacking with 2 One handed swords


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 BlueHawks206

BlueHawks206

    Member

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 03 November 2013 - 03:18 AM

It seems legal but broken. Can you use two one handed weapos in one attack.

Edited by BlueHawks206, 03 November 2013 - 03:21 AM.


#2 No Hero

No Hero

    Member

  • Members
  • 53 posts

Posted 03 November 2013 - 05:01 AM

If you have two one-handed weapons equipped, you choose which weapon to use with each attack and get no other bonuses.Look at the rulebook, page 9.

 

The corollary is that dual wielding is pretty useless right now, there's almost always going to be a weapon you'd rather use exclusively, so you might as well carry a shield.


  • Silverhelm and JorduSpeaks like this

#3 Kirgat

Kirgat

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 04 November 2013 - 03:22 AM


The corollary is that dual wielding is pretty useless right now, there's almost always going to be a weapon you'd rather use exclusively, so you might as well carry a shield.

It's just what I've always thought. I hope the Skirmisher class fixes this issue. I would've wanted this also to happen for other classes like beastmaster or stalker...

Maybe they could've done it with some changes to rules or with new items with bonusses like: if you are holding another 1 handed weapon add 1 green dice to your attack and things like that or maybe having two attacks in a single action but with low damage weapons.

Edited by Kirgat, 04 November 2013 - 03:26 AM.


#4 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 04 November 2013 - 04:07 AM

There is a hero of the CK - sorry, I don't have the cards under my eyes - who has a bonus in combat if holding two weapons (but he still chooses which one he uses for the combat).


An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#5 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 395 posts

Posted 04 November 2013 - 11:51 AM

The biggest reason to use two one-handed weapons in the base game is utility and flexibility. For example, you could pick one weapon that has stun, and another that is focused on damage, or moving the creature, and you can then choose your second attack based on the outcome of the first instead of having to only choose what weapon you're attacking with for the entire turn during the "equip" phase.


  • JorduSpeaks likes this

#6 PlainWhiteBread

PlainWhiteBread

    Member

  • Members
  • 65 posts

Posted 04 November 2013 - 05:46 PM

Everyone's favorite wet-paper warrior Eliam can attack a monster, and has the ability to deal a single damage to another adjacent monster (provided he doesn't miss) if he has two melee weapons equipped. Until Beastmaster came along, this ability didn't do him any good until he got another weapon out of a shop phase.

The default ability (or at least ONE of the abilities) for Skirmisher will probably allow the hero to spend surges from either of his equipped weapons when making a melee attack, and maybe one of the level 3 skills will allow him to attack with both weapons in a single action, in the same vein Runemaster's Quick Casting allows the hero to attack twice.



#7 Safyre

Safyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 05 November 2013 - 04:25 PM

Everyone's favorite wet-paper warrior Eliam can attack a monster, and has the ability to deal a single damage to another adjacent monster (provided he doesn't miss) if he has two melee weapons equipped. Until Beastmaster came along, this ability didn't do him any good until he got another weapon out of a shop phase.

The default ability (or at least ONE of the abilities) for Skirmisher will probably allow the hero to spend surges from either of his equipped weapons when making a melee attack, and maybe one of the level 3 skills will allow him to attack with both weapons in a single action, in the same vein Runemaster's Quick Casting allows the hero to attack twice.

 

I was trying to figure this out, as well, and the only thing I could see going from the standard rules is that if both weapons are equipped, you have the option of using both weapon's choice of surges. In essence, you get more surge options than just equipping one weapon. You just don't get the extra attack or use the damage of the second weapon... unless it's a surge that says you can.

 

Or maybe I missed something in the rules that says only the main weapon's surges can be used?

 

- Saf


- Saf


#8 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,415 posts

Posted 05 November 2013 - 06:36 PM

Or maybe I missed something in the rules that says only the main weapon's surges can be used?

 

Page 12, under "Declare Weapon and Target:"

 

The player must also declare which equipped weapon his hero is using.  Heroes may either attack with one equipped weapon or their bare hands.  A hero attacking with his bare hands can only target an adjacent space and rolls only the blue attack die for his attack. Only abilities on the chosen weapon may be used; if equipped with two weapons, abilities on the other weapon are ignored for the attack.



#9 Safyre

Safyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 05 November 2013 - 07:12 PM

Thanks for clearing that up for me! :)

 

- Saf


- Saf


#10 ebelley

ebelley

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 29 January 2014 - 05:45 PM

I still don't understand the rule. I tried to use the poisoned blowgun in combination with the serpent dagger with the dungeoneer class. Whit one free attack, once i used one of his search skill I don't remember wich, I thought it could be nice to try and poisonned a monster with a ranged attack and then strike it with the blade. Now what i found is that the poisoned blowgun with a blue and one or two green die ain't enough to go through the defense of nearly any monster and so with the dagger so I ended with two useless weapon because they can deal any damage and so can't use the surge anyway.

 

Now I'm confused, the question is: If i have, let's say two dagger's,  When I do an attack I choose the weapon I'm attacking with so I can use those ability's, but do I add some dice from the other weapon for damage? The blue die is always there so if I have two weapons with a blue an a red die do I end up with an attack pool of blue,blue,red,red or maybe blue,red,red. And if we add the second blue die and I get an X does it fail the second attack?

 

I hope someone understand's my confusion, because I'm starting to think that having two knives equipped. Thank, and I'm still gonna try and find some answer in older post but as for now I did not find anything.



#11 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,415 posts

Posted 29 January 2014 - 08:56 PM

Now I'm confused, the question is: If i have, let's say two dagger's,  When I do an attack I choose the weapon I'm attacking with so I can use those ability's, but do I add some dice from the other weapon for damage?


No, you don't add anything from the other weapon. You pick one and you only use that one.

As for monster defenses, every defense die has at least one blank side, so there's always a chance to deal damage :)

#12 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 395 posts

Posted 30 January 2014 - 10:31 AM

and so with the dagger so I ended with two useless weapon because they can deal any damage and so can't use the surge anyway.

I just want to help clarify, because I'm not sure I understand your reasoning. You do not need to do damage to be able to spend surges. Having all wounds removed from armor/defense dice doesn't count as a Miss (like falling short on range does), so other effects of the dice aren't cancelled. If you rolled 2 surges with the Serpent Dagger, you can still poison the target even if you don't deal any wounds after defense (this is specific to the serpent dagger).






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS