Jump to content



Photo

Alternate Baltar and "You are a Cylon"


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Drighton

Drighton

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 02 November 2013 - 12:32 PM

We're about to start a game with Daybreak (all the expansions actually) and have a question about Balternate: 

 

Does the restriction prevent him from using the Cylon action at all, or does that make him an exception to the "If you are not in the Brig," part of the Cylon action?

 

My thinking: Balternate cannot use the action unless in the Brig, thus cannot reveal himself unless in the brig. However, since the second half of the Cylon action cannot be used in the brig, and he can only use the Cylon action in the brig, the result is Balternate can never use the second half.

 

My brother: Balternate's "unless in the brig" superscedes the "If you are not in the brig," requirement and therefore switches his restriction: He is only able to use the second half while in the Brig.

 

We've got some time before the game will begin, so hopefully we can sort it out.



#2 Mephisto666

Mephisto666

    Member

  • Members
  • 162 posts

Posted 03 November 2013 - 01:53 AM

Um... the first one....  your "My thinking:" one. 



#3 JasX

JasX

    Member

  • Members
  • 67 posts

Posted 12 November 2013 - 04:30 AM

+1 to your thinking.

 

Basically whilst Baltar is hanging around the usual human areas the 'Action' text ability on his card is blank to him/unavailable to him.

 

When he is in the brig he *can* then use it but then he uses it in full as detailed including any 'must not be in the brig' clauses.



#4 kirlits

kirlits

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 15 November 2013 - 12:15 AM

http://boardgamegeek...r_Galactica_FAQ

 

Q: Can alternate Baltar reveal outside the Brig?
A: (multiple threads) No. He cannot use an action on a Cylon loyalty card unless he is in the Brig. The Cylon loyalty cards all say "Action: Reveal this card. If you are not in the Brig..." While the rulebook may be slightly unspecific about revealing, clearly revealing means that you use the action on a Cylon loyalty card. Baltar cannot do that unless he is in the Brig, and so he can only reveal while in the Brig (and he does not get to do his reveal power).






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS