Jump to content



Photo

Campaigns and Expansions


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Safyre

Safyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 31 October 2013 - 11:45 PM

First, I don't have the expansions yet.

 

Second, the big question:

 

Are the expansions part of the same campaign as The Shadow Rune or are they their own?

 

What I mean is, if we play The Shadow Rune and then move onto one of the expansions, do the heroes have to start at level one again?

 

One of the expansions sort of implies that it is happening at the same time and in addition to The Shadow Rune (Lair of the Wyrm). The question here is, if you play both The Shadow Rune and the Lair of the Wyrm in some sort of alternating fashion, would the heroes or Overlord become too powerful by the end of either one?

 

I'm wondering because I read the heroes must start from scratch for each campaign. On the descriptions of the contents of the Expansions I see new classes but not new skills for the previously released classes.

 

This brings up a skills question, as well, but I'll start another thread for that one.

 

- Saf


- Saf


#2 Safyre

Safyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 01 November 2013 - 12:01 AM

 

Since you JUST bought the core set, I would recommend getting Lair of the Wyrm and Trollfens and saving Labyrinth of Ruin for later. To get through all of the quests in the Shadow Rune campaign (the one that comes with the core set), you have to play at least 4 campaigns. LotW and TF both introduce side-quests which can be used during Shadow Rune, in addition to new heroes, monsters, etc.

 

Then, once you get at least a couple play-throughs of the Shadow Rune campaign, you'll be ready for a completely different campaign, and at that point, I'd pick up Labyrinth of Ruin.

 

 

Truthfully, griton answered this in another thread I just read. Thanks much even if you didn't know it!

And I'm guessing The Shadow of Nerekhall is a new campaign.

 

- Saf


- Saf


#3 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,532 posts

Posted 01 November 2013 - 06:02 AM

Yeah, the pattern is Big Box with a full campaign followed by small box with a mini-campaign.

 

Mini-campaigns can be added to any full campaign, but full campaigns are all independent.



#4 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 476 posts

Posted 01 November 2013 - 10:03 AM

The question here is, if you play both The Shadow Rune and the Lair of the Wyrm in some sort of alternating fashion, would the heroes or Overlord become too powerful by the end of either one?

 

The side-quests themselves, when played as part of a larger campaign (e.g. Lair of the Wyrm quests during The Shadow Rune) usually do not provide any experience. The only thing gained is gold, treasure, and possibly relics. For any given expansion that you add to a campaign, you'll only play, at most, 2 extra quests, one in each Act. (So far, with Lair of the Wyrm and Trollfens, I think you can play one from each expansion each act, for a total of 4 side quests).

 

Each small expansion also has rules for "mini-campaigns" where instead of playing 1 Act I quest and 1 Act II quest mixed in with a larger campaign, you can just play all of the quests in a row (usually 5 total) as if they were a smaller, stand-alone campaign. 



#5 Safyre

Safyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 05 November 2013 - 03:44 PM

Ahh.. ok. Got it. I guess this is to make it different the next time you play when you play the quests you skipped last time.  Thanks both of you. This helps me out a lot.

 

-Saf


- Saf





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS