Jump to content



Photo

Test Run + Femme + Scavange combo


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Dydra

Dydra

    Member

  • Members
  • 59 posts

Posted 31 October 2013 - 11:26 AM

So I was playing with a Shaper friend the other day and we kinda' got in the argue if this combo is working? 

So first he Test Runs for Femme Fatale ,  do what he does and before the end of the turn he scavanges it , so it enters the game "regularly".

The problem is that Test Run says "When this turn ends, add the program to the top of your stack, if it's still installed" 

As far as wording go - yes the program is still installed.

but he insisted on that it's not correct, because it's "a different entity "  

Could I get a conformation on that?



#2 Wh0isTh3D0ct0r

Wh0isTh3D0ct0r

    Member

  • Members
  • 446 posts

Posted 31 October 2013 - 11:52 AM

Scavenge can be used on Femme Fatale after it is installed by Test Run. It is considered to be "installed" until the end of the runner's current turn. If, however, at the end of the runner's turn Femme Fatale is still installed, then it goes to the top of the runner's stack. (aka, "draw pile").


X-Wing:

Spoiler
Netrunner:
Spoiler
Star Wars LCG:
Spoiler

#3 Wh0isTh3D0ct0r

Wh0isTh3D0ct0r

    Member

  • Members
  • 446 posts

Posted 31 October 2013 - 11:59 AM

This is a great combo, too, because it effectively reduces the vanilla cost of installing a 9-cost program like another copy of Femme Fatale by 5.

 

3 credits + 1 click (Test Run) + 1 click (Scavenge) = 5   vs.   9 credits + 1 click (install Femme Fatale) = 10

 

However, having all four required cards in your grip is difficult.


Edited by Wh0isTh3D0ct0r, 31 October 2013 - 12:03 PM.

X-Wing:

Spoiler
Netrunner:
Spoiler
Star Wars LCG:
Spoiler

#4 Dydra

Dydra

    Member

  • Members
  • 59 posts

Posted 31 October 2013 - 12:10 PM

I don't understand what you are talking about ... 

1) In the first post you explain me how  Test Run works, which I already know.

I said that my friends insist, that you can Scavenge her, after Test Running , so SHE KEEPS staying IN PLAY ( installed) instead of the Test RUN to RETURN her to the top of your stack

2) What 4 cards???? You need only 2  - Test Run and Scavenge ...

Please, no more troll replies, thank you ...



EDIT: The question is that if Scavange is used to "re-install" a Test-run Femme Fatale, does it become a "different entity" , hence " a different program" , which stops the  "At the end of the turn" effect on Test- Run?


Edited by Dydra, 31 October 2013 - 12:12 PM.


#5 Saturnine

Saturnine

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,558 posts

Posted 31 October 2013 - 12:11 PM

Yes, once a card leaves play there's no "memory" if it being installed. Scavening a Femme Fatale creates effectively a new copy of the card that has nothing to do with Test Runs lasting effect.



#6 Dydra

Dydra

    Member

  • Members
  • 59 posts

Posted 31 October 2013 - 12:16 PM

Thank you mate 



#7 stormwolf27

stormwolf27

    Member

  • Members
  • 623 posts

Posted 31 October 2013 - 12:29 PM

and if you scavenge for this combo, remember, you have the opportunity to pick the same or different ice as Femme's target.


"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men." - Willy Wonka


#8 Grimwalker

Grimwalker

    Member

  • Members
  • 690 posts

Posted 01 November 2013 - 06:45 AM

Only the most obvious example of a maxim I try and hold to:

Only suckers pay retail price.



#9 stormwolf27

stormwolf27

    Member

  • Members
  • 623 posts

Posted 02 November 2013 - 09:36 AM

Only the most obvious example of a maxim I try and hold to:

Only suckers pay retail price.

haha


"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men." - Willy Wonka


#10 Grimwalker

Grimwalker

    Member

  • Members
  • 690 posts

Posted 04 November 2013 - 10:09 AM

 

Only the most obvious example of a maxim I try and hold to:

Only suckers pay retail price.

haha

 

 

I'm not even kidding--when I see a card like Monolith or Blackguard, it immediately says to me "don't pay money for this."

PW+Stimhack is the classic example.

Modded.

Oversight AI and Bioroid Efficiency Research.

Test Run + Scavenge, as mentioned in the OP. Why do you think so many Shapers are splashing Morningstar?
 

Use recurring credits to break Pop-Up window, don't just pay through it.

Minelayer, in a sense.

I could go on, but there are so many ways in the game to cheat cards into play that if your strategy involves paying MSRP for installs/Rezzes, you're playing a sucker's game. Obviously you can't do it all the time, but you can boost your efficiency by looking for those opportunities.



#11 stormwolf27

stormwolf27

    Member

  • Members
  • 623 posts

Posted 04 November 2013 - 11:50 AM

 

 

Only the most obvious example of a maxim I try and hold to:

Only suckers pay retail price.

haha

 

 

I'm not even kidding--when I see a card like Monolith or Blackguard, it immediately says to me "don't pay money for this."

PW+Stimhack is the classic example.

Modded.

Oversight AI and Bioroid Efficiency Research.

Test Run + Scavenge, as mentioned in the OP. Why do you think so many Shapers are splashing Morningstar?
 

Use recurring credits to break Pop-Up window, don't just pay through it.

Minelayer, in a sense.

I could go on, but there are so many ways in the game to cheat cards into play that if your strategy involves paying MSRP for installs/Rezzes, you're playing a sucker's game. Obviously you can't do it all the time, but you can boost your efficiency by looking for those opportunities.

 

I wasn't disagreeing. I just laughed a little at the wording.


"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men." - Willy Wonka





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS