Jump to content



Photo

Boba Fett & Navigator


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 defiantncc1701

defiantncc1701

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 27 October 2013 - 04:24 PM

Validity question. Boba can change his soft turns to the opposite direction. Navigator can change the speed of the direction.

So it's it not correct that if Boba starts with a soft left 1 then uses his ability to change direction to the right, navigator will allow him to pick ANY right turn maneuver? Including hard 3 banks?

#2 Jehan Menasis

Jehan Menasis

    Member

  • Members
  • 506 posts

Posted 27 October 2013 - 05:45 PM

Boba is specifically allowed to do that per the FAQ rules.

 

How exactly he does that is an entirely different subject... But yes, if Boba + Navigator declares a bank maneuver, he can change his dial to any other bank maneuver at any speed.

 

That combo is commonly known as 'Fettigator'.

 

Finally, 'soft' or 'hard' turns have nothing to do with speed... 'Soft' (aka 'bank') are 45º turns, while 'hard' (aka 'turn') are 90º turns.


  • FriendFive likes this

#3 MantoF18

MantoF18

    Member

  • Members
  • 47 posts

Posted 27 October 2013 - 05:56 PM

This was addressed in the newest FAQ.  When a player can activate two different abilities at the same time she may choose which order to preform them in.  So, If Boba Fett dialed in a Bank 1 Left, you may use Fett's ability to change direction and the Navigator to change speed OR visa vera change speed then direction...

 

BUT it is important to note that the navigator may only change the speed of the Bearing you have selected.  The different Bearings of maneuvers are:  Straight Forward, Bank Left, Bank Right, Turn Left, Turn Right, Kilogram Turn, and (New, for the shuttle) Stall.  A lot of folks refer to Banks as "Soft" and Turns as "Hard", but there is no such thing as a soft turn, you are mixing up your terminology.

 

So If you Dial in a Bank 1 Left, Fett's options are Bank Left 1,2,3 OR Bank Right 1,2,3.   He may NOT do a "Hard" Turn as that is a different bearing.  Similarly, you may not decide to "Buttonhook" or Kilogram Turn if you dial in a straight maneuver.

 

Boba Fett with a Navigator or the "Fettigator" is indeed a maneuverable ship, but you can't just go wherever you like.

 

Manto


  • FriendFive likes this

#4 Cptnhalfbeard

Cptnhalfbeard

    Member

  • Members
  • 451 posts

Posted 28 October 2013 - 02:34 PM

So it's it not correct that if Boba starts with a soft left 1 then uses his ability to change direction to the right, navigator will allow him to pick ANY right turn maneuver? Including hard 3 banks?


This only works with banks (as you call them soft turns), you can turn any bank to any other bank regardless of speed or direction, but you cannot turn them into hard turns.




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS