Jump to content



Photo

Jan Ors and 2nd Attack via Gunner


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Straygeologist

Straygeologist

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 25 October 2013 - 10:18 AM

When using Jan Ors ability (When another friendly ship at Range 1-3 is attacking, if you have no stress tokens, you may receive 1 stress token to allow that ship to roll 1 additional attack die) to boost Han in the Falcon along with Luke as Crew. If you miss with the first attack with an "additional attack die", do you get it on the second attack initiated by Luke? 

At the table, we ruled it as "no, it just applies to the first attack", but I'd like a rules clarification. 

 

Thanks!



#2 Khyros

Khyros

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,849 posts

Posted 25 October 2013 - 10:27 AM

No you do not.  You immediately preform a primary weapon attack.  Which means that it is a brand new attack.  Therefore Jan has a new trigger opportunity, but since she's already stressed, cannot provide an additional attack die.


The fleet:  

Spoiler

#3 VanorDM

VanorDM

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,782 posts

Posted 25 October 2013 - 10:47 AM

Yeah she could provide a extra die to one or the other, not both.

#4 Buhallin

Buhallin

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,182 posts

Posted 25 October 2013 - 10:47 AM

What Khyros said.  Separate attacks, so Jan's boost expires before the second one.

 

As a minor technical note, you can choose to apply it to either attack, not just the first one.  So you could potentially make the first attack hoping to miss but strip tokens from the target, then use Jan to drop the hammer on the second attack.



#5 swampthing

swampthing

    Member

  • Members
  • 397 posts

Posted 28 October 2013 - 01:35 AM

Just to ask.
When do you have to declare Jan is using her ability.

Eg. I fire with wedge and after looking at his die result but before the defender rolls i decide I could really do with one more attk die to finish the target off, make sure if you will.

#6 Drakhan Valane

Drakhan Valane

    Member

  • Members
  • 307 posts

Posted 28 October 2013 - 02:05 AM

It makes more sense to me to require the decision before rolling any dice.
Rebel Alliance: 3 X-Wings, 1 Y-Wing, 4 A-Wings, 2 B-Wings, 2 HWK-290s, 1 YT-1300
Empire: 2 TIE Fighters, 1 TIE Advance, 1 Lambda Shuttle

#7 Jehan Menasis

Jehan Menasis

    Member

  • Members
  • 466 posts

Posted 28 October 2013 - 03:04 AM

Just to ask.
When do you have to declare Jan is using her ability.

Eg. I fire with wedge and after looking at his die result but before the defender rolls i decide I could really do with one more attk die to finish the target off, make sure if you will.

 

 

2. ROLL ATTACK DICE

 

During this step, the attacker calculates how many

attack dice to use and then rolls the dice.

 

 

Thus, you decide how many dice you are going to roll, then, you roll.

 

No 'opportunistic' decisions.



#8 swampthing

swampthing

    Member

  • Members
  • 397 posts

Posted 28 October 2013 - 03:07 AM

Thought so but we are all guilty of looking for loop holes I'm sure

#9 Jehan Menasis

Jehan Menasis

    Member

  • Members
  • 466 posts

Posted 28 October 2013 - 03:09 AM

No one is free of sin.


  • swampthing likes this

#10 Straygeologist

Straygeologist

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 28 October 2013 - 05:48 AM

Thanks everyone! I'm glad we ruled this correctly at the table, but we were unsure exactly "why" it was wrong beyond that it felt wrong. The wording of Jan's power in combination with Luke/Gunner's wording makes perfect sense. 



#11 Buhallin

Buhallin

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,182 posts

Posted 28 October 2013 - 09:45 AM

Also from the "Roll Attack Dice" step on pg 11:

 

The attacker resolves any card abilities that allow him to roll additional (or fewer) dice.

 

Doesn't get much more explicit than that :)






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS