Photo

Is there any chance on fixing advanced tie cost? (maybe also bombers and Awings, even change missiles and torpedos rules)

• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 negroscuro

negroscuro

• Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 23 October 2013 - 04:06 AM

Hello,

I am a Spanish veteran player and I always miss advanced tie in tournaments, only is used to field Vader but the 21 points a basic advanced tie cost dissuade all player from using it.

Now there is no need of choosing an advanced tie if you want to bring missiles, there are other chances.

There is opinion that missiles and torpedoes are not as effective as they should, just one more dice (and negating an extra defense dice when cast at range 3). There are some extra effects for each missile but usually they doesn't worth the points they cost. They are just a one time use things... and 4 o 5 points are a lot.

Anyway if you think on field a bomber, Awing or advance tie always comes to this:

advanced tie 21 + 4/5 (missile/torpedo)

a wing 17 + 4/5 (missile/torpedo)

bomber 16 + 4/5 (missile/torpedo)

But people take into account that the 1 or 2 of initiative doesn't guarantee to be able to shot the missiles. So people tendo to choose:

advanced tie 23 + 4/5 (missile/torpedo)

a wing 19 + 4/5 (missile/torpedo)

bomber 18 + 4/5 (missile/torpedo)

If you don't load those ships with some upgrades and weapons they are not useful, even sometimes that imply to field other ships to have a TL free action or a skill to be able to reroll the attack dice.

In conclusion if you think about how many point do you need, usually you find more trustable to rely on a regular xwing for 21 points or 2 tie fighters for 24 points.

Is there any chance to improve/change this?