The Gate, the Key, the Watcher and the Son

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Tox

Tox

• Members
  • 313 posts

Posted 19 October 2013 - 11:13 AM

So (continuing from another thread), I set up Yog-Sothoth and the Lurker against the randomly selected Skids, Minh, Ursula and Darrell, watched over by Nodens and the Miskatonic University, with Lurker gates and the DH, LatT and MH expansions in play. With the soundtracks of the games Demon's Soul and Dark Souls in my headphones, I drew the first Mythos card.

This is the account of what transpired next.

I realized what a strong team this was when I started playing. They were helped a lot during the random item distribution: one Press Pass and a Healing Stone for Skids, one Press Pass for Darrell, the Book Club relationship card between Minh and Ursula, Ibn-Ghazi's powder (never used), a map of Arkham that got passed around a lot, a Time Bomb and a Milk of Niggurath that also got passed around a lot (and on the second to last turn of the game, Skids placed the Time Bomb at the Police Station, then drank the Milk. Only a Maniac and a Deep One escaped the blast). By the end of turn one (a gate opened in Independence Square but no one tackled it yet), I was afraid I was going to run out of clues for the first time: Minh and Ursula got 4 clues each from reading the KiY, they both passed it, so Ursula had 4 starting clues, plus one for starting at Hibb's, plus 4 from the KiY, plus the one she picked up at the Cemetary. Minh was likewise stacked with clues, and Skids had around 7-8 by the end of the second turn. The first few turns were amazing, I managed to seal the Cemetary and the Science Department, Minh found an Elder Sign (the only one that was used during the game) and everything was going pretty darn amazingly. Unfortunately Ursula lost her big pile of clues trying to fight/sneak past/close a gate at the Devil's Hopyard, and was driven insane <_< . Minh was also saddled with a Curse since around tur