Jump to content



Photo

What is the effect of flying units on fortification markers?


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Polkadot

Polkadot

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 18 October 2013 - 05:56 AM

When a flying unit is attacking a fortication the rules state that the border is treated as if it were breached.

 

For a normal fortifcation this is simple, however the rules for for breaching a fortication marker are different.

 

Is the breach treated as if the following applies "When an area fortified by a fortification marker is breached,remove the marker; that fortification’s effects on all its border
segments are nullified. No breach tokens are placed."?

 

Or is the damage reduced by 1 as per breaching a normal fortification?

 

Thank you


Edited by Polkadot, 18 October 2013 - 05:59 AM.


#2 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,284 posts

Posted 19 October 2013 - 12:44 AM

Since no Breach marker is placed when THs attack a normal fortified area, I'd go with reduce damage by 1.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#3 Polkadot

Polkadot

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 24 October 2013 - 03:12 AM

Hi. Thanks for the reply. 

 

You agree with my opponent! I'll explain why I disagree...I'd be grateful for more views.

 

When a fortification marker is breached the following applies (a)

 

(a) "When an area fortified by a fortification marker is breached, remove the marker; that fortification’s effects on all its border segments are nullified. No breach tokens are placed."

 

So as I see it, when the thunderhawks attack a fortification marker you treat the attack on the border as a breach...therefore you treat it as specified in (a) but without actually removing the marker. 

 

Does anyone know if these questions ever get on the FAQ? 



#4 JonE

JonE

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 30 October 2013 - 07:30 AM

Hi all - the "opponent" here  :)

 

I would view the outcome as a reduction of 1 damage because:

  • When a temporary fortification/marker is "breached" by a bombardment etc - it's not actually breached, it's destroyed.
  • Therefore the "effects on all its border segments are nullified" line is referring to its destroyed state, not its breached state.
  • So when under attack from THs and not destroyed/removed, but treated as breached - there's no reason to suppose that state is any different to a permanant fort's breached state.

Hope that makes sense.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS