Jump to content



Photo

'The Source' with 2 influence


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 4tman

4tman

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 17 October 2013 - 07:26 AM

So far (I dont have anything from the spin cycle yet, which will be published in Germany the coming month...) the Source is the only neutral card with influence >0. Does anyone know why that is? I always thought any neutral card will have an influence of 0.

#2 frybender

frybender

    Member

  • Members
  • 159 posts

Posted 17 October 2013 - 07:56 AM

Neutral cards don't have to have an influence of 0. The source has an influence cost because the game designers thought it needed it for balance reasons.



#3 Saturnine

Saturnine

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,556 posts

Posted 17 October 2013 - 08:41 AM

As frybender said, there's nothing in the rules that prevents neutral cards from having an influence cost greater than zero. The Source is the first card to make use of that fact, but it probably won't be the last.



#4 CommissarFeesh

CommissarFeesh

    Member

  • Members
  • 371 posts

Posted 17 October 2013 - 10:20 AM

Neutral cards don't have to have an influence of 0. The source has an influence cost because the game designers thought it needed it for balance reasons.

 
Indeed, if you read the C&C press release where The Source was first spoiled, FFG staed why they felt the need to give this card an influence cost - it's so potentially powerful that no deck should have unrestricted access to it.

#5 4tman

4tman

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 18 October 2013 - 05:26 AM

Okay, so I just presumed that the neutral influence is always zero because it has always been that way so far. Thanks for the answers guys.




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS