Jump to content



Photo

Please Help US


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Ericnando

Ericnando

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 16 October 2013 - 06:06 PM

Hello everyone, please help us we are in doubt with two cards:
1 - Red Vengeance (princes of the Sun) can be used against the attacker who won the challenge?
2 - How exactly does the ability of Drumbeater (Kings of the Sea)

 

 



#2 Dracu1a

Dracu1a

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts

Posted 16 October 2013 - 07:30 PM

Red Vengeance, yes you (Martell) must kneel two influence to satisfy the cost of the event and your opponent will then satisfy the claim of that challenge. Ultimately you are transferring the responsibility to your opponent.

 

Drumbeater, the purpose of this card is to gain a power token if you win by 4 or more STR. For example if you have a total power of 10 and the opponent decides to block the challenge with a total strength of 5, you win the challenge and your opponent must satisfy the claim value. However, if you kneel drumbeater, it will be unopposed and you gain a power automatically (unless cancelled by an effect) and your opponent must still satisfy the claim value depending on what the challenge was (power=give up a power, intrigue=discard x amount of cards, military=kill x amount of characters),

 

 

Great questions!

 

Have fun!



#3 -Istaril

-Istaril

    Member

  • Members
  • 771 posts

Posted 16 October 2013 - 07:30 PM

1 - Red Vengeance does two things; the first is cancel the regular effects of claim, the second is choosing an opponent to satisfy the claim instead. That opponent can be (and in joust, invariably is) the attacker who just won the challenge.

 

2 - A challenge is normally considered unopposed if there are no defenders, or the opponent counts 0 str in the challenge (say, if he blocks with characters you get to ignore the strength of because of intimidate). What Drumbeater does is allow you to kneel him to make it so that if you win the challenge by 4 or more (Say, your 7 str fleet to his 3 str defender), it'll also be considered unopposed regardless of defending strength. This is particularly interesting out of Greyjoy who, in addition to getting the unopposed power, tend to have a lot of other effects that key off winning unopposed challenges (eg. Victarion's Scheme). The timing for this decision is a "challenges" action, so it can be taken either after declaring attackers but before stealth targets are chosen, or after defenders are declared but before resolution of the challenge starts.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS