Jump to content



Photo

Rules clarification - Objective tokens


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 rfisha

rfisha

    Member

  • Members
  • 220 posts

Posted 15 October 2013 - 06:37 PM

We were playing "Honour Among Thieves" last night and the OL wanted to move her Ogres over the top of the objective tokens (otherwise she was blocked the two objective tokens in the corridor).  They represent thieves who are being interrogated from memory.

 

Can anyone provide an official ruling?  The best I can come up is that it is allowed as per the familiar rules section, which suggests that unless stated, they are not treated like a figure .  If that is the case, would I have to defeat the Ogre before encountering the objective token?


Edited by rfisha, 15 October 2013 - 10:16 PM.


#2 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,571 posts

Posted 16 October 2013 - 06:38 AM

I don't own LoR so I can't read the quest rules directly, but in general you are correct.  If the quest rules do not define these tokens as figures (or otherwise state that the tokens block movement) then there's nothing to stop an ogre from standing on top of one.

 

The familiar rules have nothing to do with this, though.  Objective tokens are not familiars.  The reason an objective token doesn't count as a figure is because it's not a plastic figure.  There are no rules in the book that define an objective token as a figure, so unless specific quest rules say otherwise, an objective token is a token, physically, not a figure.

 

As to whether or not you need to defeat the ogre before doing whatever the quest requires you to do here, that would depend on whether or not you are allowed to do your thing from an adjacent space.  If you're allowed to do your thing from an adjacent space, then all you need to do is get adjacent to the token (and the ogre on top of it) and you're good to go.  If you need to do your thing from the same space the token is in, then you would have to defeat the ogre (or at least move it) since standard movement rules prevent you from occupying the same space as the ogre.


Edited by Steve-O, 16 October 2013 - 06:40 AM.

  • rfisha likes this

#3 rfisha

rfisha

    Member

  • Members
  • 220 posts

Posted 16 October 2013 - 03:53 PM

Thanks Steve-O!






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS