Jump to content



Photo

Kingdom cards and strategy cards question


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Sails of Atlantis

Sails of Atlantis

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 15 October 2013 - 03:21 PM

I have a question regarding "The serpent ring of set."

 

It says the stygian player can spend on sorcery token to force an opponent to discard one of his character cards in play that needs to be refreshed...

 

If the opponent targeted has two or more characters in play and needs to be refreshed, who gets to choose which character card is discarded?

 

2nd question...

 

Guards of Aghrapur says to use at the start of a military contest.   It does NOT say the military contest must be during the Turan player's turn.   So if the Turan player gets attacked in a province that is defended by less than 4 army units, or the province rating of an undefended (but controlled) province is less than 4, then he can use this card to boost the rating to 4 for that one military contest where Turan is defending?

 

The Hand of Nergal also says something similar.... "Play before a military contest...blah, blah,"

It does not say that it has to be the Turan player's turn...  

 

3rd..

 

Can defenders also use strategy cards during a contest even though it's not their turn?



#2 Krieghund

Krieghund

    Member

  • Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 16 October 2013 - 06:04 PM

1.  The owner of the cards decides.

 

2.  They can be used while defending, as long as the contest involves his/her own units/territories and not neutral ones.

 

3.  Yes, as long as the contest involves his/her own units/emissaries/territories and not neutral ones.



#3 Sails of Atlantis

Sails of Atlantis

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 22 October 2013 - 02:42 AM

Thanks for the fast reply. 

 

Is there any reason for the first answer?    I used the ring of set against Aquilonia who had both his diplomat character and a minor general in play & both needed refreshing.    His argument was that since it doesn't specifically say on the card who gets to choose, he could just as well choose which one to get rid of.



#4 Krieghund

Krieghund

    Member

  • Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 23 October 2013 - 05:24 PM

The card says "force an opponent to discard" the card, indicating that the opponent is taking the action, so he/she should make the choice.  If the player of the card were intended to make the choice, it would say "discard an opponent's card", indicating that the card player takes the action.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS