Persistent PBF

• Please log in to reply
86 replies to this topic

#1 MosesofWar

MosesofWar

• Members
  • 225 posts

Posted 15 October 2013 - 12:15 PM

Greetings all! I wanted to reach out to the community and gauge how interested EotE players would be in something along the lines of a Persistent World, EotE PBF (Play by Forum). I'm a veteran of a couple of Roleplaying Forum Based games, such as Heroes of Ivalice (a Final Fantasy Tactics Roleplay) and the Star Wars RP.

I think that this universe and game rules would make an awesome persistent play by forum system! I enjoyed the Star Wars RP, but it is strictly an RP. All combat was decided by players prior to fighting... There were no skill checks, no risk of any losses or strategy, just who wins who loses, then RP the fight scene. Heroes of Ivalice was a great persistent world RP and one of my favorite experiences as a role player. However, it was complicated and it strained the GMs which recently caused the community to end its almost decade long run.

As I mentioned, I believe EotE would be an awesome persistent world, due to the simplicity of skill checks, the freedom of character creation and the Star Wars universe allows for massive grand adventure between Episodes IV and V.

Would anyone be interested in participating in a game with persistent characters in a persistent game world? We'd need some dedicated GMs willing to learn various aspects of the Star Wars Universe and a player base that wants to participate in a grand adventure, rather than a typical 4-5 player consistent group.

The only real problems I see are rolling mechanics on a board are a little difficult, which would need to be decided by the community; a system like RPGGeek could be a possibility. Also, how to ensure that the participating players are owners of EotE core rules.. Perhaps PW lock with submittable of a character? I'm note sure. In any case, I'm looking for feedback and thsoe who would be interested in this type of game.