Jump to content



Photo

Special cards are in play?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Mndela

Mndela

    Member

  • Members
  • 828 posts

Posted 15 October 2013 - 05:15 AM

For exemple, shadow card. In Hunt for Gollum, one Hunters from Mordor attacks to you, when you reveal his shadow card is a Signs of Gollum. Hunter gets +2 by his text cause this clue?

 

And other exemple, but different (In Battle of Five Armies). You control Bilbo and use Sting when you defend, the next card is Vanguard of Bolg. In this case, there are not progress tokens on 3b neither 4b (for example)..., so: do you place 3 tokens damage on the enemy attacker (by the +2 threat cause of the text of Vanguard of Bolg), or only 1 token damage?


Edited by Mndela, 15 October 2013 - 05:16 AM.

A wizard is never late..., he arrives precisely when it is the last round


#2 Nerdmeister

Nerdmeister

    Member

  • Members
  • 639 posts

Posted 16 October 2013 - 01:20 AM

Regarding question one, the clue card is not in play as it is a shadow card. So it does not confer a +2 attack to the hunters.



#3 leptokurt

leptokurt

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,232 posts

Posted 16 October 2013 - 01:32 AM

For exemple, shadow card. In Hunt for Gollum, one Hunters from Mordor attacks to you, when you reveal his shadow card is a Signs of Gollum. Hunter gets +2 by his text cause this clue?

 

And other exemple, but different (In Battle of Five Armies). You control Bilbo and use Sting when you defend, the next card is Vanguard of Bolg. In this case, there are not progress tokens on 3b neither 4b (for example)..., so: do you place 3 tokens damage on the enemy attacker (by the +2 threat cause of the text of Vanguard of Bolg), or only 1 token damage?

Nerdmeister is correct about the first one.

 

Hmmh, the second example is tricky. I don't think the card is ever in play, as it is discarded right away. However, I think you still have to add the 2 points threat, as it doesn't matter if the card is in play or not. But that's an educated guess, would be nice if someone else could tell if cards in the discard pile (or cards that are not in play in general) are affected by card effects.



#4 alogos

alogos

    Member

  • Members
  • 419 posts

Posted 16 October 2013 - 02:22 AM

Text are only in effect when the cards is in play or if the text specifically mention otherwise.

Cards with a X threat should count as 0 because the X is defined in the card text.



#5 leptokurt

leptokurt

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,232 posts

Posted 16 October 2013 - 03:45 AM

Text are only in effect when the cards is in play or if the text specifically mention otherwise.

Cards with a X threat should count as 0 because the X is defined in the card text.

You're right.

 

For everyone who is interested, it's in the rulebook on p. 23 under "constant effects".



#6 Mndela

Mndela

    Member

  • Members
  • 828 posts

Posted 16 October 2013 - 05:13 AM

But..., if shadow cards are considered not in play..., these cards can be "discarded" from play? For example, Key Troll, if it is discarded (for exemple, as shadow card) return to staging area.


A wizard is never late..., he arrives precisely when it is the last round


#7 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,130 posts

Posted 16 October 2013 - 07:23 PM

The shadow card itself is in play, yes?  There is plenty of text in the manual that refers to shadow cards as "in play."  But the rest of the card is ignored and not considered "in play" if that card is dealt as a shadow card.

 

Pg. 6 of the manual, in the description of shadow effects, the shadow effect and the "in play" effect of a card are considered separate:

"11. Shadow Effect Icon: If a card has a shadow

effect, that effect is denoted by this icon, which also
serves to separate the shadow effect from the card’s in
play effect."
 
Also clarified in the FAQ pg 8:
"Q: What happens to Banks of the Anduin (CORE 113)
if it is drawn as a Shadow card?
A: It will be discarded from play at the end of the
combat phase, like other Shadow cards. When a card
is drawn as a Shadow card, only its Shadow text is
considered to be active."

Edited by GrandSpleen, 16 October 2013 - 07:27 PM.


#8 Mndela

Mndela

    Member

  • Members
  • 828 posts

Posted 17 October 2013 - 09:30 AM

So Troll Key is considered in play (and after "discarted" from play) when it is dealt as shadow card?

 

Note: Troll Key has no shadow effect


Edited by Mndela, 17 October 2013 - 09:31 AM.

A wizard is never late..., he arrives precisely when it is the last round


#9 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,130 posts

Posted 17 October 2013 - 09:51 AM

 

 

Note: Troll Key has no shadow effect

 

Right but, from that FAQ entry I quoted above: " When a card is drawn as a Shadow card, only its Shadow text is considered to be active."  This text would suggest that it doesn't matter if there is a printed shadow effect or not.



#10 la1cajun

la1cajun

    Member

  • Members
  • 129 posts

Posted 03 February 2014 - 01:27 PM

On the "banks of the anduin" card, I know the card itself is in play but no shadow effect so normally it would go to discard, It wouldnt go on top on encounter deck on that one? Is that correct? So Banks of the Anduin would actually have to be in play as a location for its effect to take place to put back on top of encounter deck?



#11 Noccus

Noccus

    Member

  • Members
  • 370 posts

Posted 03 February 2014 - 01:38 PM

Basically it is like this:
- card in play normally: ignore shadow text.
- card drawn as a shadow card: ignore all other text above the shadow text.

So with banks of the anduin as example:
- in play as location it triggers it's effect when explored, going on top of the encounter deck. (Not a bad thing btw!)
- as a shadow card it does nothing.
"Not all those who wander are lost"




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS