Jump to content



Photo

the meaning of "each time"


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 D-Fracta

D-Fracta

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 14 October 2013 - 08:33 AM

One little question:

 

Suppose you are playing a Champion and defeat a monster with Motivating Charge and choose to gain 1 valor from it. Defeating this monster also make you gain another valor through your Valor of Heroes skill.
According to the Valorous Strike skill, "each time you gain valor, you may instead place a damage token on this card". Since the 2 valors you just gained were gained at the same time from the same triggering condition, does this mean you can only add one damage token on the Valorous Strike card?


#2 jadedbacon

jadedbacon

    Member

  • Members
  • 57 posts

Posted 14 October 2013 - 08:48 AM

My gut instinct would say you would put 2 damage on the Valorous Strike skill.  Main reason is that even though it happened at the same triggering time, its coming from 2 separate sources (Motivating Charge and Valor of Heroes).  Its similar to Overlord cards, you can't play the same card on the same triggering condition, but you can play 2 different cards on the same triggering condition. (You could play 2 separate cards after the dice are rolled for example - Dark Might and Critical Blow for instance).


Never believe in "never"

- Algus Sadalfas


#3 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 479 posts

Posted 14 October 2013 - 11:11 AM

That's a tough one, and has a few different assumptions going on.

 

Firstly, since All Champions have Valor of Heroes, it's unclear if Motivating Charge allows for gaining 2 Valor Tokens (or gaining 1 Valor and recovering 1 Fatigue), or if it merely allows for an extra move before an attack and the option of recovering 1 Fatigue instead of gaining the 1 Valor from Valor of Heroes.

 

That said, IF (and I'm not sure this is the case) defeating a monster with Motivating Charge awards you with 2 Valor, and because Valorous Strike says "each time you gain valor [not specifically singular], you may instead place a damage token [specifically singular]", not "for each valor you gain" or "place an equivalent number of damage tokens", that you would only place ONLY 1 damage token on the card instead of receiving ANY Valor. However, this is only based on my understanding of previous rulings, which doesn't necessarily mean anything in regards to this specific case, and while it may be how the rule is written, may not necessarily be the intent (which does happen in some cases).

 

Your best bet is to ask FFG two questions:

1) Can Motivating Charge award 2 Valor Tokens (combined with Valor of Heroes, which is always)

2) If so, how does it combine with Valorous Strike (0 Valor + 1 Damage on VS; 0 Valor + 2 Damage on VS; can you choose to gain 1 Valor and put 1 damage on VS or is it all or nothing)


Edited by griton, 14 October 2013 - 11:13 AM.

  • jadedbacon likes this

#4 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,554 posts

Posted 14 October 2013 - 12:24 PM

I agree that the OP should ask FFG is he wants an official answer to the question.

 

My two cents, however, is that the champion could place up to two damage tokens in this case.  To me, the term "each time" refers to each instance of an effect which causes the hero to gain valour.

 

If he had gained two valour from a single effect, I would say he could only place one damage token, but the case the OP describes is two separate abilities that both triggered on the same condition.  Hence he has gained a single valour token "two times."

 

FFG may well rule otherwise and if that's so, then so be it.  This is what makes sense to me, though.


Edited by Steve-O, 14 October 2013 - 12:24 PM.

  • jadedbacon likes this

#5 D-Fracta

D-Fracta

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 17 October 2013 - 06:11 PM

Here is the answer from FFG:

 

 

________________________________________________________________

 

Hey D-Fracta,

 
No, the Champion would be able to place damage tokens for both on Valorous Strike. Each time does indeed mean each time, regardless of simultaneous instance.

Thanks,
Justin Kemppainen
Creative Content Developer
Fantasy Flight Games
jkemppainen@fantasyflightgames.com

 

________________________________________________________________



#6 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 479 posts

Posted 18 October 2013 - 08:39 AM

Awesome. My fears about Motivating Charge have been removed.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS