Photo

Victarion Greyjoy(RotC) vs Eddard Stark(LoW)

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 xXxDaRkStAr

xXxDaRkStAr

• Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 13 October 2013 - 06:59 AM

hello again :) as a newbie i am having a lot of questions for this game :) and i am posting again to specify a rule regarding an attacking Victarion Greyjoy... As it says if he is attacking, and i am having less naval than the attacking player, my opponent raises the claim by one... so what happens if i declare Eddard Stark as a blocker? does it drop the claim value back to 0? which character's ability comes first and which second?

#2 doulos2k

doulos2k

• Members
  • 246 posts

Posted 13 October 2013 - 11:11 PM

It's been ruled in other threads that Eddard Stark's effect is a conditional constant that causes claim to be zero whenever he is defending. No amount of claim raising will ever raise that claim beyond zero due to this. 

The difficulty for me is being certain what Victarion's ability is. It also appears to be a conditional constant that claim is raised as long as the condition has been met. 

This is likely why you're getting views and not answers. Many of us were likely waiting for someone like Khudzlin, Ratatoskr, Istaril, or players with more experience to weigh in. Granted, we all hope for ktom, but his presence in answers has been more sporadic of late. 

My gut says that Eddard trumps Victarion, because Victarion's text could be considered a passive that only initiates at the point where claim matters, but I'm just not sure. 

Sorry, more than likely, I'm just over thinking it. 

Edited by doulos2k, 13 October 2013 - 11:12 PM.

Austin AGoT Players

http://agotaustin.com

#3 Khudzlin

Khudzlin

• Members
  • 1,418 posts

Posted 13 October 2013 - 11:40 PM