Jump to content



Photo

Leoric of the Book's Heroic Feat


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 SaltyFishsticks

SaltyFishsticks

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 12 October 2013 - 11:57 AM

Hey guys!

 

Ran into this during a game – when using Leoric's Heroic Feat, does his attack also affect himself?

 

Intuitively it seems like it certainly should not:

 

"Perform an attack with a magic weapon.  This attack ignores range and targets each figure adjacent to you.  1 attack roll is made but each figure rolls defense dice separately."

 

It seems to be the same as Whirlwind or the Elemental's "Fire" ability, and shouldn't affect Leoric himself, but someone said that it had been confirmed that Leoric's feat does indeed affect himself.

 

I couldn't find anything with a google search and I didn't see it in the official FAQ nor the unofficial BGG FAQ.

 

Anyone have a link to a ruling on this?  And does the same apply to the Whirlwind and Fire skills?  (And as a follow up, if it's true, why?  It seems like that wouldn't make sense since Leoric is not adjacent to himself).



#2 rfisha

rfisha

    Member

  • Members
  • 215 posts

Posted 13 October 2013 - 08:55 PM

Well it clearly states each figure adjacent to you.  A figure cannot be adjacent to himself.



#3 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 476 posts

Posted 14 October 2013 - 10:53 AM

Based on various other rulings, "adjacent" does not count as being in the same space. (This has come up for a number of Familiar abilities) This is different than "within X spaces of you," which does include the space you're in. (Including the ruling on Break The Rune, which they've admitted might make the card undesirable, but is still the case according to RAW.) Think of it as this:

 

your space = 0 spaces away

adjacent = 1 space away

within X spaces = less than or equal to X spaces away (which includes 0 spaces away).






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS