Life after Azathoth

• Please log in to reply
108 replies to this topic

#1 Lee418

Lee418

• Members
  • 128 posts

Posted 10 October 2013 - 09:19 AM

Up until now I've played most (but not all) of my AH games with Azathoth as the AO. Why? Because I'm still learning the game. Azathoth has a generous doom track and does not add a lot of additional complexity.

But now I feel like I want to branch out a little more and broaden my AO experience. But I don't want to set myself up for failure by picking AO's that look easy, but in reality aren't. For example I recently tried a game with Hastur. I figured the long doom track would help and the 8 clue tokens needed to seal gates would not be too big a deal. Was I wrong or what? :rolleyes:

So what I'm basically asking for is a rating of AO's from easiest to hardest. (I'm not talking about final battle difficulty after the AO awakens.) Which AO's would be a good next step after Azathoth?

*NOTE: I only have the AO's from AH, IH, and KH.

#2 ceridan13

ceridan13

• Members
  • 37 posts

Posted 10 October 2013 - 09:51 AM

Hello! I had a similar question some time ago, so I checked the official games statistics here:

https://docs.google....VZV1htUVE#gid=7

Looks like Ithaqua, Nyarlathotep and Yig should be your next targets.

But that may differ with the number of investigators and/or explansions you use.

Anyway, check the stats, they will give you a general idea!

• Lee418 likes this

#3 Julia

Julia

I survived Avi's apocalypse

• Members
  • 6,411 posts

Posted 10 October 2013 - 01:02 PM

Checking the stats could be a good idea, well spotted Ceridan :) But as you said, the stats are inferred by a lot of things (number of investigators, expansions, and stuff).

In my experience, good AO's to train (if you play with the core board only, or AH+KH) are: