Jump to content



Photo

Daybreak rules question


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 kirlits

kirlits

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 09 October 2013 - 03:42 AM

Question: does "change of plans" skill card affect location skill checks, super crisis skill checks and demetrius missions skill checks?

 

If the question already has been asked, where the answer can be found?


Edited by kirlits, 09 October 2013 - 03:48 AM.


#2 Skowza

Skowza

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,131 posts

Posted 10 October 2013 - 07:26 AM

I don't have the card in front of me, but I believe it changes the normal pass result to Human players drawing cards? In which case, yes it affects location skill checks but cannot be used on a SC or Mission card.

#3 kirlits

kirlits

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 10 October 2013 - 09:35 AM

Why are you so sure it doesn't affect SC? It's said only character abilities are restricted.

 

About locations it seems to be strange...

 

P.S. Card can be seen here:

BSG04_Cards_Skill-Fan.png


Edited by kirlits, 10 October 2013 - 10:07 AM.


#4 kirlits

kirlits

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 10 October 2013 - 10:04 AM

And one more question: can "change of plans" replace the result of automatically passed skill check (for example passed with Boomer's once per game or "Political prowess" card)

 

P.S. Boomer: 

http://i191.photobuc...mer-valerii.jpg

 

Political prowess: 

http://www.fantasyfl...skill-cards.png



#5 JasX

JasX

    Member

  • Members
  • 53 posts

Posted 11 October 2013 - 09:10 AM

There has already been a bit of an 'unofficial' FAQ posted via 'Tim' from FFG over on BGG. The full FAQ is here:

 

http://boardgamegeek...ant-answ/page/7

 

Direct answers we have:

 

 


24. "Change of Plans" vs Political Prowess or Boomer's OPG: "If Political Prowess or Boomer's "Mysterious Intuition" Ability is used to make a check pass, "Change of Plans" may be played to change the pass result."
25. "Change of Plans" vs Cain's Intolerant: These occur at the same time (they are both changing the pass result). Current player determines the order. If CoP goes second, no execution and humans draw 2. If CoP goes first, execution and no human draw. "Before the current player chooses the order, the player who wishes to play "Change of Plans" has the opportunity to return the card to his hand instead."

 

So yes it does apply to location skill checks, yes it still can be used with Boomer and Political Prowess.

 

We've not got a direct answer on supercrisis and missions, however I'd be inclined to say *no* for a mission (this is quite explicit in the rules) but I'd say *yes* it can be used on super crisis.... the same way you can play ICs, reckless cards, scientific research etc etc on supercrisis, it's in the same class as those other cards.

 

Also there was clarity that for supercisis and missions character abilities ARE in effect that impose negative restrictions on players playing into them (Cally, Gaeta etc etc)


Edited by JasX, 11 October 2013 - 09:11 AM.


#6 Skowza

Skowza

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,131 posts

Posted 12 October 2013 - 07:37 AM

Yea, my bad, SC are immune to Character abilities but not cards.

#7 kirlits

kirlits

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 14 October 2013 - 12:01 AM

JasX, thanks a lot. Answer and link both are very useful :)



#8 kirlits

kirlits

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 14 November 2013 - 07:50 AM

Additional questions:

 

 

9. For Love: Can be used anytime except discarding down to the hand limit or resolving a Super Crisis.

Question: can For Love be used, when player is instructed to discard his hand of skill cards?

 

20. "The Farm" vs. Miracle abilities: "After the fail result of "The Farm" is resolved no human player (including the alternate version of Baltar) can use his miracle ability. Cylon Leaders can still use their miracle abilities when they are not Infiltrating.... Miracle tokens can still be used for other effects, such as the locations on the Rebel Basestar."

Question: If "The Farm" is failed is it true, that new Baltar can no longer have up to 3 miracle tokens?

 

 

BSG04-CharacterSheet-GaiusBaltar.png
 



#9 JasX

JasX

    Member

  • Members
  • 53 posts

Posted 14 November 2013 - 09:36 AM

The way I would play it would be:

Question: can For Love be used, when player is instructed to discard his hand of skill cards? Me: Yes, so long as it wasn't initiated by a *super crisis* for love could be tapped to leave the player with 1 card

 

Question: If "The Farm" is failed is it true, that new Baltar can no longer have up to 3 miracle tokens?

Me: No, he can still hold up to 3 in my book. Daybreak rules page 5 defines your miracle ability as an ability using the description "once per game", and implies it includes any others where it is a *character card* ability that involves discarding miracle tokens. For me Baltar's extra token carrying ability is more an extra OPT ability than OPG (he can just kinda 'do it' on an ongoing basis and he doesn't need to discard a token in order to do it). Therefore he can continue to hold up to 3.

 

Only my opinions tho, you could ask in the thread over on BGG to prompt more discussion.


Edited by JasX, 14 November 2013 - 09:42 AM.


#10 kirlits

kirlits

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 30 November 2013 - 01:45 AM

And 3 more questions:

 

1. In "Assanitaion Plot" crisis can the discard option be chosen if admiral or current player has less than 3 cards?

 

pic524006.jpg

 

2. Almost all mutiny cards nave instruction "discard this card" or "remove this card from the game", except one. Does it mean, that the card mustn't be discarded after activation?

 

Weapons Armed - "I don't want to come out of this crap with cold weapons..." - Margaret "Racetrack" Edmonson

Action: Destroy a raptor to gain an assault raptor. Then, launch 2 raiders from each basestar.

*You cannot play this card if there are no raptors in the reserves.

 

3. How must instruction "remove card/token(s) from game" be executed?

 

It seemed to me, that removed from game cards/tokens must not be used for the rest of the game. But suddenly we have answer in FAQ

 

Q: Can Build Nuke be played after Unauthorised Usages?
A: (Tim, FFG, to infocynicYes. You can regain a nuke token this wayRe: Questions we want answered


Edited by kirlits, 30 November 2013 - 01:49 AM.


#11 JasX

JasX

    Member

  • Members
  • 53 posts

Posted 05 December 2013 - 06:34 AM

Ok 1 is easy, you can *always* choose any option on a 'choice' crisis, and generally make any choice *unless* there is text sayign you cant. Hence crisis cards that say *discard X cards* become easy options if the affected player has no cards as there is no penalty.

 

Exceptions where the choice *is* restricted I believe are limited to

-"build cylon detector" where it specifically states "you cannot choose this option if you have no nuke token to discard"

-Mutiny cards where they have bold text printed on saying things like "you cannot play this card if you have fewer than X cards in your hand", "you cannot play this card if you are the president" etc etc

-Do not the errata note in the official FAQ on the FFG website affecting the "unwelcome faces" skill card (they printed 'may' where it should read 'must'

 

2. They skipped it on the quorum card 'presidential pardon' too, we have an answer somewhere that presidential pardon is intended to be discarded on use, I'd expect the same 'discard' applies to this one too (it's not strong enough to be a 'remove from game' one -esp as the blue 'raptor specialist' card comes around multiple times in the engineering deck)

 

3. this card has been acknowledged as an FFG screw up, it should be treated as  'discard all nukes' not remove them from the game.  All other remove from game effects are as you describe, put them away and never use them again.



#12 kirlits

kirlits

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 05 December 2013 - 10:03 PM

1. Generally crisis says "admiral discards X cards", but here it says "admiral must discard". The same text on Roselin's disability "must discard 2 cards for activation" and she can't activate, if she has less than 2 cards.

 

Is answer still the same?

 

2. Thanks for the answer :)

 

3. Ok but it says "remove nukes" and "remove card". If nukes are only discarded, must the card be only discarded instead of removing?



#13 JasX

JasX

    Member

  • Members
  • 53 posts

Posted 10 December 2013 - 06:29 AM

1. I'll repeat my previous response, any conditional restrictions are explicitly printed on the card and must be followed. If it ecplicitly says the words "you may not choose this option if....." then you cannot choose that option.

 

If it makes no reference to resticting crisis card choice, then you may make any choice.

 

It haas also been covered explicitly in one of the FAQs that rosylin cannot activate any location if she does not hold 2 cards to discard, similarly a character cannot move between vessels if they have zero cards (and cannot therefore discard one to move)

 

 

3. Remove the card, discard the nukes. in practice the card will never come around again. If left in the game on the 1% of times it does come around again it is likely to be useless 99% of the time anyway due to its effect, therefore remove it.



#14 kirlits

kirlits

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 24 December 2013 - 03:07 AM

Thanks for answers






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS