Jump to content



Photo

datasucker tokens being used after running into a rototurret etc.


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Bishop141

Bishop141

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 08 October 2013 - 10:17 PM

I facecheck some unrezzed ice and run into a rototurret and I cant break the sub. The corp chooses to destroy my datasucker with 6 counters on it. Am I able to use any of those counters in response before I destroy it?



#2 frybender

frybender

    Member

  • Members
  • 183 posts

Posted 08 October 2013 - 10:42 PM

Datasucker says "...rezzed piece of ice currently being encountered..." so the only thing you can do is lower rototurrets strength from 0 to 0 and you can spend all 6 virus tokens on it if you want but that's about it.



#3 Bishop141

Bishop141

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 08 October 2013 - 11:02 PM

True. Thank you.



#4 frybender

frybender

    Member

  • Members
  • 183 posts

Posted 08 October 2013 - 11:09 PM

No problem. Also technically, timing-wise you can only spend your datasucker tokens before the subroutine goes off. Once the subroutine goes off the only activated abilities you can use are "prevent" type of abilities.



#5 CommissarFeesh

CommissarFeesh

    Member

  • Members
  • 562 posts

Posted 09 October 2013 - 01:49 AM

Yeah, it's less useful against roto because it's already strength 0, but if you ran into a Grim which already had a parasite on, you could use Datasucker to bring it to 0 and trash it before the subroutine could ever fire.

#6 Volkazz

Volkazz

    Member

  • Members
  • 35 posts

Posted 09 October 2013 - 06:03 AM

Is there a ruling somewhere that says you do not reduce its strength to -6?

 

I can't see a point, but I did think the strength could be negative.

 

V.



#7 CommissarFeesh

CommissarFeesh

    Member

  • Members
  • 562 posts

Posted 09 October 2013 - 06:45 AM

Well you could make it Strength -6, but as you say what would the point be? You're spending Datasucker tokens for no benefit.

 

The Strength of ICE can indeed be lower than 0, as the wording on Parasite implies. It's also relevant for Atman (as a Str 0 Atman couldn't break a Str -1 ICE, so you could actually hurt your own game by using Ice Carver).






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS