Unbalance

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Hamal22

Hamal22

• Members
  • 63 posts

Posted 03 October 2013 - 04:47 PM

In our latest game one of the characters get lot of object that gives +1 craft/strength and he became after not to long to be more powerfull of all the rest and it really destroy our game.
What are you segesthing to do to prevent this sort of things??

#2 Lilikin

Lilikin

• Members
  • 206 posts

Posted 04 October 2013 - 12:31 AM

Talisman is a game of chance to be honest I have lost and won most games on finding or not finding good combinations of cards all you can do is A) know the types of cards you want and head for them (say head for the city or dungeon etc) and B) keep centred on your end goal. The good news is because its so random its hard to brag about winning and thus for a very competitive group it takes a lot of pressure.

I love this game for the fun not the winning.

I am no pro though

You know it!

#3 Dam

Dam

• Members
  • 7,260 posts

Posted 04 October 2013 - 12:39 AM

Do you think the characters are balanced to begin with? I doubt you'll find many players who'd argue the characters are balanced, thus swings of fortune come with the territory. Thank god too, that's the Talisman way, it's not a min-max do A, 100% get B result euro without randomness.

• rfisha likes this

"A dirty mind is its own reward."

#4 The_Warlock

The_Warlock

• Members
  • 1,518 posts

Posted 04 October 2013 - 04:31 AM

Talisman is not about balance at all!

A character drawing all the good stuff is something that happens every game, in different measures.

There are means to hinder or stop that character from advancing (Spells), but if he gets a good advantage he should just try to win the game as soon as he can.

You may have your share of fun even when you don't win. In 2010 I played 36 games before winning; except the very last games, I was more entertained than frustrated. That's not for everyone, though.

• DomaGB likes this