Jump to content



Photo

Darth Vader Imperial Navy card question...


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 garygoodjob

garygoodjob

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 28 September 2013 - 12:24 PM

His card reads that "While this unit is attacking, each of your attacking units gains an objective blast icon." If he's attacking alone or not does that include Vader gaining the icon too??

#2 GroggyGolem

GroggyGolem

    Member

  • Members
  • 468 posts

Posted 28 September 2013 - 12:29 PM

The key is in the use of text. There are other cards that denote each other card or something to that effect but Vader's ability states each attacking unit.

 

Therefore, yes, Vader can always benefit from his ability.


  • Sephirex likes this

Rebels: 3 X-Wing, 1 Y-Wing, 1 A-Wing, 1 B-Wing, 1 YT-1300

Imperials: 5 TIE/LN, 1 TIE/ADV, 1 TIE/IN, 1 Firespray-31


#3 MasterJediAdam

MasterJediAdam

    Member

  • Members
  • 632 posts

Posted 29 September 2013 - 09:45 AM

Concur. Each unit attacking gets the icon.

Welcome to the machine!


#4 Wh0isTh3D0ct0r

Wh0isTh3D0ct0r

    Member

  • Members
  • 213 posts

Posted 30 September 2013 - 06:31 PM

And do not confuse "attacking" with "striking". In order for Vader to be "attacking", it would have to be the DS player's turn. If it is the LS player's turn and Vader is participating in the engagement, then he is not attacking; he is defending. Therefore, the ability would not take effect.



#5 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,047 posts

Posted 30 September 2013 - 08:16 PM

And do not confuse "attacking" with "striking". In order for Vader to be "attacking", it would have to be the DS player's turn. If it is the LS player's turn and Vader is participating in the engagement, then he is not attacking; he is defending. Therefore, the ability would not take effect.


True. Not that it really makes a difference in this case as giving your defending units blast damage would do nothing anyways.

#6 Wh0isTh3D0ct0r

Wh0isTh3D0ct0r

    Member

  • Members
  • 213 posts

Posted 30 September 2013 - 08:49 PM

 

And do not confuse "attacking" with "striking". In order for Vader to be "attacking", it would have to be the DS player's turn. If it is the LS player's turn and Vader is participating in the engagement, then he is not attacking; he is defending. Therefore, the ability would not take effect.


True. Not that it really makes a difference in this case as giving your defending units blast damage would do nothing anyways.

 

 

With this card, yes. The effect would mean nothing if you could use it as the defender. However, there are many cards where this distinction is key, such as Trooper Assault, Proximity Mine, Smuggling Compartment, and anything with Targeted Strike, such as Luke Skywalker, Han Solo, TIE Attack Squadron, Vader's Lightsaber, Mandalorian Armor, etc., etc.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS