Jump to content



Photo

Selection phase Question


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 johnzsigo

johnzsigo

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 27 September 2013 - 02:35 PM

Can I intentionally pick an action or item I know is going to be invalid during the resolution phase?  There was a case I wanted to stay in the secret room waiting for the halo conference room to open up (which it did next turn).  Could I have played the extract/download card again even though there is no data left in the secret room to essentially allow myself to stay in the same room another turn?  It seems like I could???  I read the rule that forbids playing the Advance/Retreat while delayed but there was nothing about playing a card you know won't resolve.



#2 subochre

subochre

    Member

  • Members
  • 475 posts

Posted 27 September 2013 - 07:53 PM

Ooh, good question.  I'm gonna say yes, partly because the way the Selection phase rules are worded makes it seem like the delayed restriction is a special exception, but also because the discussion of the Interface and Download actions gives the impression that they still technically resolve whenever their conditions aren't met, but without having any effect.

 

Oh!  Come to think of it, it has to be allowed: if you're delayed and itemless in a room with no data or interface tokens, then you wouldn't have a legal play otherwise.

 

Now, there's a trickier question, which is "could you have played Advance, hoping that someone ahead of you was about to reveal the Halo room?"  My gut feeling is that even that would have been permissible, though that's a much harder claim to defend.



#3 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 6,488 posts

Posted 29 September 2013 - 04:12 AM

Point is that when you select an action, you don't know what others have selected, so during normal play it could happen that you play a Download card even with no available tokens in the room (the guy before you just cleaned them all and you got nothing), and this is consistent with the rules. So, I'd go for a 'yes', simply because this could happen even during normal play.


We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League

#4 johnzsigo

johnzsigo

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 07 October 2013 - 10:55 AM

Thanks for the replies!






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS