Jump to content



Photo

Brother against Brother


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Rojoto

Rojoto

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 22 September 2013 - 02:52 PM

So, in the Cataclysm scenario, a LOSS condition is if any one player is eliminated.  However, in the Brother against Brother Event card, it says you 'may' attack another player and if he eliminates them, he immediately wins and all other players lose.

 

Does this card basically overrule the base conditions of the scenario?

 

I'm assuming this is what the description means by:  "Just be mindful of selfish, backstabbing players who are only looking out for themselves."



#2 Budgernaut

Budgernaut

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,441 posts

Posted 23 September 2013 - 11:08 AM

Yes, it overrules the base condition of the scenario. So if one player is at 19 damage, and another player is at 5, the player at 5 may wish to just destroy the 19-damage-player to ensure a win for himself, since that 19-damage player may end up dying, causing everyone to lose in the next round.

 

For a truly cooperative game, you should remove that card before play. For me, I like to have the contingency there so I can choose to take out another player if I wish. But in a lot of cases, you run the risk of attacking them, not defeating them, and have weakened both of your hands for the upcoming events. So if it's not a sure-kill, it's really not in your best interest to attack someone else. Also, if it does come up, and nobody decides to attack anyone else, you basically got a short breather round before finishing off the scenario.


"There is a fine line between neutral and amoral. In fact, there may be no line there at all."

--Count Dooku


#3 Freeman

Freeman

    Member

  • Members
  • 47 posts

Posted 30 September 2013 - 03:23 AM

So if one player is at 19 damage, and another player is at 5, the player at 5 may wish to just destroy the 19-damage-player to ensure a win for himself, since that 19-damage player may end up dying, causing everyone to lose in the next round.

 

 

You cannot attack players having more damage than you, if I recall correctly...

This is exactly to prevent the "pray on the weak" tactic you described above. If you want your "betrayal win", you'll have to fight hard for it :)



#4 Budgernaut

Budgernaut

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,441 posts

Posted 30 September 2013 - 08:31 AM

Woops! You're absolutely right! I guess I really do ignore this card more than I thought. I play solo mostly so it kinda makes sense. Hmmm. With that extra restriction, I wonder how often people win by Brother Against Brother.

"There is a fine line between neutral and amoral. In fact, there may be no line there at all."

--Count Dooku





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS