Jump to content



Photo

Apothecary Question - Potent Remedies


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Dravir

Dravir

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 13 September 2013 - 11:00 PM

Here is the card in question.

_________________________________________________________

Potent Remedies (3 Experience Ability):  

 

-When a hero discards and elixir token, he may roll 1 additional geen power die and recover (fatigue) equal to the (surge) rolled, in addition to any (Health) recovered (even if this card is exhausted.  

 

-You may revive an adjacent hero without using an action.

 

__________________________________________________________

 

The group I have has 2 schools of thought on the first part of this card.  Half of us believe (including myself) that the hero discarding the elixir token receives health and fatigue that would appear on the red AND green dice.

 

The other school of thought is that the hero receives health shown on the red die only and any surges that show up on the green die can be used to recover fatigue.  In other words, the additional green die is being added in to only offer a chance at recovering 1 fatigue.

 

I can see this being interpreted both ways.  It seems to me that because the wording states that you are recovering fatigue EQUAL to the surges shown that there must be a potential for more than 1 and therefore they mean to include any surges that could be rolled on the red die as well.  This same thought pattern leads me to believe that they must also want the hero to recover the health that could be shown on the green die as well.

 

PLEASE HELP!



#2 AltWren

AltWren

    Member

  • Members
  • 100 posts

Posted 13 September 2013 - 11:32 PM

I believe you are correct.  You roll a green and red and count the surges on both.



#3 ZXTR

ZXTR

    Member

  • Members
  • 86 posts

Posted 14 September 2013 - 12:40 AM

I also do believe that you count hearts and surges on both dices.



#4 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,608 posts

Posted 14 September 2013 - 08:34 AM

You definitely recover fatigue equal to surges shown on the green die.  That's literally what the card says.  This is not a reference to the general ability to spend a surge and gain a fatigue.

 

In fact, that general surge ability CANNOT be applied because this is not an attack.  Spending surges for abilities is something that only happens during an attack, not whenever you happen to roll dice.

 

As for how much Health gets recovered, it sounds like this ability is being added on to whatever benefit the hero gains from discarding the elixir token.  So however much Health the initial discard provides is how much Health you recover.



#5 Husker949

Husker949

    Member

  • Members
  • 124 posts

Posted 16 September 2013 - 06:49 AM

The wording is a bit off, but what happens is you now roll a red and green die, add all the hearts and any surges between the dice and recover what is shown.



#6 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 484 posts

Posted 16 September 2013 - 01:42 PM

You definitely recover fatigue equal to surges shown on the green die.  That's literally what the card says.  This is not a reference to the general ability to spend a surge and gain a fatigue.

 

In fact, that general surge ability CANNOT be applied because this is not an attack.  Spending surges for abilities is something that only happens during an attack, not whenever you happen to roll dice.

 

As for how much Health gets recovered, it sounds like this ability is being added on to whatever benefit the hero gains from discarding the elixir token.  So however much Health the initial discard provides is how much Health you recover.

 

To help clarify, there are only 2 cases where a hero discards an elixir token:

Brew Elixir: "...Once during his turn, a hero may discard 1 elixir token to roll 1 red power die and recover :heart: equal to the :heart: rolled." (This is the 0 XP starting card and how this is usually be used)

 

Inky Substance: "...A hero targeting that monster with an attack may discard the elixir token, before his attack roll, to add 1 additional green power die to his attack pool."

 

In the first case, with Potent Remedies, a hero discarding the token adds 1 additional green power die to the roll (since it says additional, to me, it implies that this isn't a separate roll). So he'd roll 1 red, 1 green to heal. Any :surge: that showed up on the red die would also recover a :fatigue:. (Granted, this is vague and could be interpreted that this only applies to the green die that is being rolled; I haven't seen an official response on this, yet.)

 

In the second case, we run into a weird issue. Potent remedies specifically says "in addition to any :heart: recovered" and is definitely themed as a healing card. However, based on a strict reading of the cards, it seems that you could target a monster with an elixir token, discard that token to add ANOTHER green die, making it +2 green dice on the attack, recover fatigue equal to all surges rolled, and since they weren't spent, would still be able to spend surges normally, (including an additional 1 for 1 fatigue). This, however, seems like it may be unintended.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS