Jump to content



Photo

Tomble Burrowell Heroic Feat


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Sorrik

Sorrik

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 09 September 2013 - 03:11 PM

I am sure this must have been asked before, but I couldn't find the search function so I hope I don't get chastised :D

 

Anyway Tomble's heroic feat rasied a question last session for us. His feat reads like this ...

 

"Action.png: Remove your figure from the map and place a hero token in your space. At the start of your next turn, place your figure in any empty space within 4 spaces of your hero token"

 

Does this feat allow him to "move" through closed doors?

 

As the OL I was like "hold on ... he is a thief, clearly this skill is supposed to act like 'move in shadows' so I am sure that the 2 dragons in the room behind this closed door that you just tried to sneak through with this feat would see you open and close a door!"

 

The player responded with ... "what if his skill is like 'Nightcrawlers'"?

 

I couldn't argue, I wanted to haha, but since it was a feat and only could be used once per encounter I let him do it. However I wanted an answer on this.

 

For clairification it was on the Fat Goblin encounter, he was infront of a closed door just before the cave and popped up behind the other closed door on the opposite side of the cave. It was 4 spaces he moved but the closed doors made me scratch my head

 

FYI for those that don't know Nightcrawler is a Marvel superhero (Xmen) that can essentially teleport. :ph34r:

 

 

Thanks for the info

-Sorrik

 

 



#2 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,604 posts

Posted 09 September 2013 - 04:35 PM

No, he can't use this ability to move through closed doors or walls.  The answer you seek lies in how to "count spaces."  There's a sidebar about "counting space" somewhere around page 11 of the rulebook (I think?)

 

In a nutshell, when an ability says "do X within N spaces," you can count through other figures and tokens out to N spaces distant, but you can't count through walls, closed doors or obstacles (the red-bordered terrain.)  Line of Sight is not required unless the ability says so, but adjacency of each space to the next is.  Doors break adjacency when they're closed.


  • Robin likes this

#3 Frollefreya

Frollefreya

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 15 September 2013 - 05:26 AM

Hi i have another question.

 

Last game night we had a disagreement about the way his Heroic Feat Works.

All with regard to how and when he arrives in his new Space,

and when he does, can he be effeted by any eff that says "Play this card when a hero enters an empty Space"

 

 

1.

turn 1: He uses his power removes his figure Places a token.

turn 2: places his figure, and is treaded as if he has been there since last turn and the Space is not empty, so he can not be effected by triggers that says "enters an empty Space"

 

 

2

turn 1: He uses his power removes his figure Places a token.

turn 2: Places his figure and becurz he just arrives in that Space, the Overload can play the Card

 

Please help ;-)


Edited by Frollefreya, 15 September 2013 - 06:27 AM.


#4 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 15 September 2013 - 06:38 AM

Good question.
The feat's text speaks of "placing" the figure: I would tend to consider that different from "entering" the square.
But it could be a good question to ask FFG.
An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#5 Frollefreya

Frollefreya

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 15 September 2013 - 01:38 PM

yes thats true, there could be a loophole there ...Placing / entering ;-)

 

what about the other part "when does he move" turn 1 or turn 2

 

/Frollefreya



#6 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 15 September 2013 - 02:04 PM

 

what about the other part "when does he move" turn 1 or turn 2

 

 

Could you elaborate?

I don't quite catch the meaning of your question/reference. 


An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#7 skolo

skolo

    Member

  • Members
  • 418 posts

Posted 16 September 2013 - 02:00 AM

place means place, and not move into/onto etc.

OL cards saying "play this card when the hero moves to/enters the space" do not work.



#8 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 484 posts

Posted 16 September 2013 - 01:08 PM

TL;DR: #2 is correct. He may be Pit Trapped.

 

place means place, and not move into/onto etc.

OL cards saying "play this card when the hero moves to/enters the space" do not work.

 

Nowhere in the rules does it define "entering" as only happening during movement (which is a pretty well-defined, though complicated, term). It's definitely not a Move Action, so Tripwire wouldn't work, but I do believe that something like Pit Trap would work.

 

We can actually look at the ruling on Astarra, whose ability is a bit incorrect in that it says "move to" even though FFG's ruling has been that she is removed and placed (the correctness here isn't what we're looking for, but in the justification that Pit Trap can be placed when a figure is placed) (emphasis mine): http://boardgamegeek...icial_FAQ#toc17

Q: When Astarra moves using her ability, does she actually have to trace a path on the map to reach the target square, or just place herself adjacent to the hero? Would monsters in between her and the hero block her movement? Would she suffer from effects such as lava or freezing? Can the OL pit trap her during this movement?

A: Astarra is removed and placed, so there are no terrain or obstacle effects to hinder that movement. However, she is entering an empty space, so the overlord could play a Pit Trap. (1)

 

Note that there is no explicit "she is treated as entering that space" on Astarra's card, so her entering the empty space must come from being placed there.


  • Robin likes this

#9 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,604 posts

Posted 17 September 2013 - 06:07 AM

Note that there is no explicit "she is treated as entering that space" on Astarra's card, so her entering the empty space must come from being placed there.

 

I agree.  Placing a figure is not the same thing as moving a figure, but entering a space is entering a space.  The figure wasn't in that space before, and now it is, therefore it has entered the space.


  • Frollefreya likes this

#10 Frollefreya

Frollefreya

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 17 September 2013 - 12:00 PM

I agree with Steve-O ... it was the same point i used to the players. 

 

 

 

 

what about the other part "when does he move" turn 1 or turn 2

 

 

Could you elaborate?

I don't quite catch the meaning of your question/reference. 

 

 

Well it was becuz there was a lot of fuzz about when he did his move.

With focus on being effected by OL Cards.

My playes agreed that, when he used his power, he did the move. (turn 1) And then Next turn (turn 2) you just placed the figure to show where. (therefor he could not be the target of eff.)

 

But i disagreed. i said that he didt his move the turn after he used his power. (as it says, clearly)

 

dont now if that explained it... i not the best with writen Words ;-)

 

/ Frollefreya



#11 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 17 September 2013 - 12:32 PM

I believe your interpretation is correct.
Otherwise, Tomble would have to specify where he was teleports on the turn when he places his token.
  • Frollefreya likes this
An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#12 Vulg

Vulg

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 29 September 2013 - 10:00 AM

Another question from me. When Tomble is escorting someone (for example guests in The Masquerade Ball) and he uses his Heroic, will the escorted guest also disappear and will be immune to attacks until Tomble reappears?



#13 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,604 posts

Posted 29 September 2013 - 10:36 AM

That sounds like a very good question to ask FFG.  I'm honestly not sure what their official answer would be.



#14 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 484 posts

Posted 29 September 2013 - 09:21 PM

http://boardgamegeek...icial_FAQ#toc30

Q: If Tomble is carrying an objective token (Trueshot Bow, crop, Idol, etc.) and decides to use his heroic feat to vanish off of the board, does the objective token get dropped or does it disappear with him off of the board?

A: Unless quest rules specify otherwise, he'd keep the objective token with him.





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS