Jump to content



Photo

Question about movement and stunning


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 gavinwatson

gavinwatson

    Member

  • Members
  • 24 posts

Posted 09 September 2013 - 01:29 AM

Hi guys, just a couple of questions. The only things that a confusing us .

 

Can a character spend its two actions to move twice, then spend all their fatigue to move a further few squares, then spend up to one less than their total health (as fatigue is maxed out) to move a further few squares again? Obviously the character would be one hit away from defeat, but is it legal to do this?

 

My other question is about stunning. The new errata states that stunning does not remove the whole turn, instead the figure has to spend on action removing the stun then they have one action remaining. For heros this makes sense, they can only attack once. However, for monsters this is pointless as they can only ever attack once anyway. So if a monster is adjacent to the figure, the stun action doesn't really do anything. The hero Ashriana (Not sure how it's spelt) stuns minion monsters that activate adjacent to her, once we read the errata that skill became totally useless. Surely it makes sense that stun removes a minion monster's whole turn and a hero's action point?



#2 rugal

rugal

    Member

  • Members
  • 622 posts

Posted 09 September 2013 - 01:50 AM

A hero can move twice, uses fatigue to move squares. Or, uses fatigue to move, make a first move action, a second one, or attacking.

 

But heroes cannot spend life in exchange of fatigue. Heroes only take damage instead of fatigue IF an effect FORCE them to spend fatigue and stamina is full. and only in that case.

 

 

Stun, in simple word, force figure to lose an action. So a stunned monster would'nt be able to attack and move, or moving only once, And losing a action is powerfull enough. And Ashrian is not the only hero to stun. some other things stuns too.

Attacking is not the only purpose of the game. For example, Ashrian well used in the intro assure the lose of the overlord, since goblins would lost actions to get away.


  • Robin likes this

#3 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 09 September 2013 - 02:26 AM

- A hero may not voluntarily spend fatigue over its stamina level - it only can suffer fatigue (from adverse circumstances) in that way.

 

See p. 13 of Rulebook : "When using skills or moving, a hero may only suffer fatigue up to an amount equal to his Stamina. If any other game effect forces a hero to suffer fatigue in excess of his Stamina, he instead suffers damage equal to the excess fatigue that would have been suffered."

 

- The FAQ about stunning is not "a new errata": it is the explanation of what the card actually says - reading the card as written leads to that ruling.

Monsters which are stunned loose one action to remove stun. They now have only one action left. Of course, if they are in a position to attack (whether by adjacent close combat or by firing at a distance), they can attack, but they won't be able to move.

In many situations, unability to move and attack during the same activation does make the monsters quite vulnerable (no "hit and run" or move-attack-move tactics anymore). So stun is far from useless for monsters.


Edited by Robin, 09 September 2013 - 02:28 AM.

An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#4 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 09 September 2013 - 02:28 AM

Ninja'd !  :ph34r:

(Well, I should not have a loong phone call when in the middle of the writing of a post)...


  • Kunzite likes this
An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#5 gavinwatson

gavinwatson

    Member

  • Members
  • 24 posts

Posted 09 September 2013 - 02:34 AM

Ah!, That clears it up. Thanks guys, really appriciate it!

 

Think I may have inadvertently cheated in the last game then, :/



#6 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 09 September 2013 - 03:53 AM

"inaverdently cheated" is an oxymoron.  ;)

BTW, I would consider that it is hard not to play somehow wrong during a quest - there are enough elements to miss (or misunderstand).


An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#7 rugal

rugal

    Member

  • Members
  • 622 posts

Posted 09 September 2013 - 04:42 AM

you think so ?

English is not my native langage and I don't have troubles. I think rules are clear enough



#8 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 09 September 2013 - 09:01 AM

The rules are clear, but I can miss this or that detail while playing.
Once there is a substantial volume of rules, errors and omissions occur.
  • Kunzite likes this
An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#9 gavinwatson

gavinwatson

    Member

  • Members
  • 24 posts

Posted 13 September 2013 - 08:48 AM

English is my native language... guess I'm just dumb then. :)






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS