Jump to content



Photo

Two Mages of Loec


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 cparadis

cparadis

    Member

  • Members
  • 215 posts

Posted 06 September 2013 - 11:14 PM

The following came up in a game the other night.

 

Mage of Loec reads:

 

Action: Cancel an Action just triggered. Then, this unit becomes a facedown development unless you discard a quest from your hand.

 

What happens if each player has a Mage of Loec? Say Player A triggers an Action, Player B then triggers Mage of Loec's Action to cancel that Action. Player A responds by triggering her own Mage of Loec to cancel Player B's Mage of Loec. Player B then responds by triggering her Mage of Loec to cancel Player A's Mage of Loec, ad infinitum. Does this go back and forth forever?

 

The second sentence, "Then, this unit becomes a facedown development ..." appears not to be a cost of the effect, but part of the effect itself.  If the card read "Action: Turn this unit into a facedown development or discard a quest card from your hand to cancel an Action just triggered" it would be a cost and so would have to be paid at the outset. Meaning it could not go on forever, assuming the players did not have a way to discard an infinite number of quests from their hands or turn Mage of Loec back into a unit from being a development.  However, that is not how the card is worded.

 

 

 



#2 Virgo

Virgo

    Member

  • Members
  • 706 posts

Posted 07 September 2013 - 02:27 AM

90 Mage of Loec
Should read: “Action: Discard a questfrom hand or turn this unit into adevelopment to cancel an Action just triggered.”

Edited by Virgo, 07 September 2013 - 02:27 AM.

  • cparadis likes this

#3 cparadis

cparadis

    Member

  • Members
  • 215 posts

Posted 07 September 2013 - 06:17 AM

So basically reading the FAQ would have meant I didn't feel like an idiot. :)
  • Junglecat likes this

#4 HappyDD

HappyDD

    Member

  • Members
  • 322 posts

Posted 08 September 2013 - 09:47 AM

It's tough to know what's in the FAQ, don't sweat it.



#5 sammann11

sammann11

    Member

  • Members
  • 236 posts

Posted 08 September 2013 - 10:29 PM

I hear that! I just re-read the FAQ today and was like: "Oh yeah.... Oh, that makes sense... Oh, there's that answer..."etc...

"Not all heros dwell in the light. Some limp in shadow." - Paul S. Kemp





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS