Another game last night, and a couple of minor points of clarification and general thoughts on the rules arising from it:
1) The Alien Outpost: it states that you draw the outpost's racial power "when you receive" the station. Is this meant to imply that you draw one power when you receive the station at the beginning of the game, or that each time the station changes hands during the game, a new power is drawn? Again, I prefer to take a thematic (and in this case much simpler) interpretation, and draw the power only at the beginning of the game, but the card did raise a query when it was captured, so might be best with clarification.
2) The Transdimensional Rift Relay: there is nothing on the card to suggest that this can't be used multiple times in one encounter (for example moving more ships into a battle after each reinforcement card played by an opponent). Is that intentional?
3) Shock Troop Shuttle Pods: is there any ruling on what point during the regroup phase this ability is to be used? Usually, a ship is retrieved from the warp by a main player specifically after researching tech cards, but since this station gives the ability to retrieve a ship on other players' turns, is it acceptable to use this power before researching a tech card?
4) The lack of a strict order of precedence for playing card effects can occasionally lead to some situations that feel like quite abusive interpretation of the rules, particularly by the current offense (since they by default receive precedence in any conflict). For example, in last night's game, the Amoeba placed four ships into the warpgate to attack a planet. As it had not chosen to use its power to add more ships, the defense activated their Gluon Mines, destroying the four ships, which should have ended the encounter there. However, since the offense's effect is listed as occurring at the same time as the activation of the mines, the Amoeba then chose to move more ships into the encounter to prevent an automatic loss, and as they were the offense, their effect theoretically happened first, meaning that there were more than four ships in the warpgate. The problem here is that they were able to make a choice about this action after the defense had already revealed (and committed to using) their tech, which the defense probably wouldn't have done had there been more ships in the gate in the first place; and the Amoeba's power could only be used this way due to it being the offense. Thematically, this means that the Amoeba player is essentially acting on prior knowledge of a coming ambush (or sending the reinforcing ships back in time?), which doesn't make a great deal of sense. The rules appear to allow this, but it definitely doesn't feel "right".
5) During a regroup phase, the offense can retrieve a ship from the warp, but only if they have ships in the warp. If they currently have no ships in the warp and another player plays a Plague against them, this means that they can theoretically lose their three ships to the warp, and then (as it is their own regroup phase, and they haven't already done so) immediately claim one back, which, again, feels a little bit "wrong". Like the situation in point 4), it's an example of the choice "not to do something" still leaving that option open in an exploitable way which doesn't feel entirely correct.
Edited by rjb, 30 September 2013 - 04:50 AM.