Jump to content



Photo

Are all hero skills an action?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Bjorn Rockfist

Bjorn Rockfist

    Member

  • Members
  • 614 posts

Posted 01 September 2013 - 07:55 AM

I had this come up in a game. In the rulebook it has "skill" as an action as long as it has the arrow on the card. Do hero skills that do not have the arrow on them count as one of the heroes 2 actions per turn?

Rebel - (4)X-Wing (5)Y (5)A (4)B (3)E (6)HWK-290 (8)Z-95 (3)YT-1300 (3) 2400 (2)GR-75 (1)CR-90 (6)Rebel Aces

Empire - (8)TIE Fighter (4)Advanced (5)Interceptor (6)Bomber (3)Defender (4)Phantom (3)Firespray-31

              (4)Lambda-class Shuttle (4)Imperial Aces (2)VT-49 Decimator

SOONtir - (6)Most Wanted (7)M3-A (4)StarViper (3)Aggressor


#2 Kunzite

Kunzite

    Member

  • Members
  • 542 posts

Posted 01 September 2013 - 08:06 AM

The arrow on the card is the action icon. Sometimes a card will read "as an action" as well. Those of the two ways you know a skill is an action. If the arrow is not there or if the card does not say "as an action" then the skill does not require an action to use.


  • Robin and modernman55 like this

"Bide your time and hold out hope."

~Count of Monte Cristo

 

NotesFromTheOverlord.tumblr.com


#3 Bjorn Rockfist

Bjorn Rockfist

    Member

  • Members
  • 614 posts

Posted 01 September 2013 - 08:11 AM

That is what I thought and how I let the heroes use them. Thank you.

Rebel - (4)X-Wing (5)Y (5)A (4)B (3)E (6)HWK-290 (8)Z-95 (3)YT-1300 (3) 2400 (2)GR-75 (1)CR-90 (6)Rebel Aces

Empire - (8)TIE Fighter (4)Advanced (5)Interceptor (6)Bomber (3)Defender (4)Phantom (3)Firespray-31

              (4)Lambda-class Shuttle (4)Imperial Aces (2)VT-49 Decimator

SOONtir - (6)Most Wanted (7)M3-A (4)StarViper (3)Aggressor


#4 Kunzite

Kunzite

    Member

  • Members
  • 542 posts

Posted 01 September 2013 - 08:28 AM

no problem.


"Bide your time and hold out hope."

~Count of Monte Cristo

 

NotesFromTheOverlord.tumblr.com


#5 Bjorn Rockfist

Bjorn Rockfist

    Member

  • Members
  • 614 posts

Posted 01 September 2013 - 11:27 PM

What if the hero's skill card says to exhaust this card? Is that the same as the arrow?

Rebel - (4)X-Wing (5)Y (5)A (4)B (3)E (6)HWK-290 (8)Z-95 (3)YT-1300 (3) 2400 (2)GR-75 (1)CR-90 (6)Rebel Aces

Empire - (8)TIE Fighter (4)Advanced (5)Interceptor (6)Bomber (3)Defender (4)Phantom (3)Firespray-31

              (4)Lambda-class Shuttle (4)Imperial Aces (2)VT-49 Decimator

SOONtir - (6)Most Wanted (7)M3-A (4)StarViper (3)Aggressor


#6 ZXTR

ZXTR

    Member

  • Members
  • 86 posts

Posted 02 September 2013 - 02:38 AM

What if the hero's skill card says to exhaust this card? Is that the same as the arrow?

 

No.



#7 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,651 posts

Posted 02 September 2013 - 08:15 AM

What if the hero's skill card says to exhaust this card? Is that the same as the arrow?

 

No, exhausting the card does not require an action.  Likewise, spending an action does not exhaust the card.  This is not MtG.

A hero may use the smae "Action" skill twice in the same turn if he wants.  Unless, of course, the card also says to exhaust it.



#8 Bjorn Rockfist

Bjorn Rockfist

    Member

  • Members
  • 614 posts

Posted 02 September 2013 - 09:35 PM

Steve-O I understand this isn't MtG. I am just trying to make sure I am not letting my players do something wrong. I am asking if using a hero's skill card that says to exhaust this card counts as an action , as an example the alchemist's skill card that says to exhaust and it makes a potion. Does that count as 1 of that players 2 actions....or would they be able to do that and still have 2 actions to perform?

Rebel - (4)X-Wing (5)Y (5)A (4)B (3)E (6)HWK-290 (8)Z-95 (3)YT-1300 (3) 2400 (2)GR-75 (1)CR-90 (6)Rebel Aces

Empire - (8)TIE Fighter (4)Advanced (5)Interceptor (6)Bomber (3)Defender (4)Phantom (3)Firespray-31

              (4)Lambda-class Shuttle (4)Imperial Aces (2)VT-49 Decimator

SOONtir - (6)Most Wanted (7)M3-A (4)StarViper (3)Aggressor


#9 ZXTR

ZXTR

    Member

  • Members
  • 86 posts

Posted 02 September 2013 - 10:57 PM

Hero on his turn can perform 2 actions and use any number of skills/items that need to be exhausted but not denoted with arrow symbol.


Edited by ZXTR, 02 September 2013 - 10:57 PM.


#10 Kunzite

Kunzite

    Member

  • Members
  • 542 posts

Posted 03 September 2013 - 05:11 AM

The Exhaust means that one can only do this once per turn. Exhausting the card keeps a hero from performing that skill more then once. The action symbol and word just eats an action, therefore if there is nothing inhibiting that card from being used twice (say, the term exhaust) then the hero would be able to use that skill for as many actions as they have available.


"Bide your time and hold out hope."

~Count of Monte Cristo

 

NotesFromTheOverlord.tumblr.com


#11 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 03 September 2013 - 07:46 AM

As a summary:
- arrow = action
- exhaust = works once per turn
If you keep to those two notions without mixing them up, all will be fine.
An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#12 Bjorn Rockfist

Bjorn Rockfist

    Member

  • Members
  • 614 posts

Posted 03 September 2013 - 08:40 PM

So if a hero has 3 different skills that just require them to be exhausted then the hero could do all 3 and still have 2 actions to preform....yes?

 

That is all I have been trying to figure out...yes or no on the above.


Rebel - (4)X-Wing (5)Y (5)A (4)B (3)E (6)HWK-290 (8)Z-95 (3)YT-1300 (3) 2400 (2)GR-75 (1)CR-90 (6)Rebel Aces

Empire - (8)TIE Fighter (4)Advanced (5)Interceptor (6)Bomber (3)Defender (4)Phantom (3)Firespray-31

              (4)Lambda-class Shuttle (4)Imperial Aces (2)VT-49 Decimator

SOONtir - (6)Most Wanted (7)M3-A (4)StarViper (3)Aggressor


#13 Silverhelm

Silverhelm

    Member

  • Members
  • 222 posts

Posted 03 September 2013 - 09:05 PM

Yes

Edited by Silverhelm, 03 September 2013 - 09:19 PM.


#14 Kunzite

Kunzite

    Member

  • Members
  • 542 posts

Posted 03 September 2013 - 09:15 PM

So if a hero has 3 different skills that just require them to be exhausted then the hero could do all 3 and still have 2 actions to preform....yes?

 

That is all I have been trying to figure out...yes or no on the above.

 

You are correct.


"Bide your time and hold out hope."

~Count of Monte Cristo

 

NotesFromTheOverlord.tumblr.com


#15 Bjorn Rockfist

Bjorn Rockfist

    Member

  • Members
  • 614 posts

Posted 04 September 2013 - 02:06 PM

Thank you.  I had a player who said it didn't, and I said it did.


Rebel - (4)X-Wing (5)Y (5)A (4)B (3)E (6)HWK-290 (8)Z-95 (3)YT-1300 (3) 2400 (2)GR-75 (1)CR-90 (6)Rebel Aces

Empire - (8)TIE Fighter (4)Advanced (5)Interceptor (6)Bomber (3)Defender (4)Phantom (3)Firespray-31

              (4)Lambda-class Shuttle (4)Imperial Aces (2)VT-49 Decimator

SOONtir - (6)Most Wanted (7)M3-A (4)StarViper (3)Aggressor





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS