Jump to content



Photo

Questions on Bright Blaze


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Kunzite

Kunzite

    Member

  • Members
  • 487 posts

Posted 30 August 2013 - 10:20 AM

So, we have been using the lizard for a while and came up with some questions. I think I know the answer to two of the four, but I want to be sure.

 

1a. Can heroes or monsters end their movement on Bright Blaze?

 

1b. If the answer is yes, does that mean Bright Blaze's space could be considered an empty space for cards like Grease Trap to work? (You know the OL would cover that lizard in grease!!)

 

2a. Can Bright Blaze move through monsters? With a movement of 4 (8 all together since he has two actions and all he does is move places, I don't see why it would be needed)

 

2b. If the answer is yes, to save argument, then can he end his movement in a monster space?

 

Thanks for your help in advance!


"Bide your time and hold out hope."

~Count of Monte Cristo

 

NotesFromTheOverlord.tumblr.com


#2 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 395 posts

Posted 30 August 2013 - 10:43 AM

1a. Can heroes or monsters end their movement on Bright Blaze?

Yes. p. 17 > Familiars

"Any figure may end its movement in a space with a familiar. Likewise, a familiar may end its movement in a space containing a figure." (note that there is an exception for familiars treated as figures, which Brightblaze is not.)

 

 

1b. If the answer is yes, does that mean Bright Blaze's space could be considered an empty space for cards like Grease Trap to work? (You know the OL would cover that lizard in grease!!)

Yes. p. 9 > Empty Spaces (sidebar) (emphasis mine)

"An empty space is defined as a space that contains no figures and that blocks neither line of sight nor movement. Unless otherwise noted, spaces containing tokens are still considered to be empty for the purposes of these effects.

 

 

2a. Can Bright Blaze move through monsters? With a movement of 4 (8 all together since he has two actions and all he does is move places, I don't see why it would be needed)

This is hard to answer. As I point out below, they get a move action that follows the same rules as heroes (which can't move through enemy units. However, it is also explicitly mentioned that they may end their movement on a space with a figure and figures may end their movement on a space with a familiar. However, familiars don't block movement, so according to RAW, figures CAN move through familiars, but it's unclear about the other way around. I would rule yes.

 

However, familiars DO NOT get 2 actions. They get "a move action" and any other actions available based on their card.

p. 17 > Familiars (emphasis mine):

"When activated, a familiar may perform a move action following the same rules as heroes. ... The familiar may perform additional types of actions during its activation, as noted on its Familiar card."

Since Brightblaze doesn't have an additional movement listed on its Familiar card, it only receives one move action. (If it was meant for familiars to receive two move actions, it would say "perform move actions".)

 

 

2b. If the answer is yes, to save argument, then can he end his movement in a monster space?

Yes. Answered above with 1a.


Edited by griton, 30 August 2013 - 10:46 AM.


#3 RagsMckay

RagsMckay

    Member

  • Members
  • 57 posts

Posted 30 August 2013 - 10:50 AM

cannot delete and did not see the dwarfs post. No need to repeat the same thing.


Edited by RagsMckay, 30 August 2013 - 10:52 AM.

I die...A lot.


#4 Kunzite

Kunzite

    Member

  • Members
  • 487 posts

Posted 30 August 2013 - 11:09 AM

Most as I thought. Thank you very much. This will end a few questions.


"Bide your time and hold out hope."

~Count of Monte Cristo

 

NotesFromTheOverlord.tumblr.com


#5 rugal

rugal

    Member

  • Members
  • 389 posts

Posted 30 August 2013 - 11:43 AM

you're actually playing with Challara ?

 

Her heroic feat looks like maybe the unsusefull one.

Is she powerfull or not ?

 

In my opinion, her heroic feat should be that brightblaze could make a fire attack using only one red dice with fire breath and no defense roll. (since in D1 brightblaze could attack once each time a new zone is discorvered, so 3-4 times a play)


Edited by rugal, 30 August 2013 - 11:45 AM.


#6 Kunzite

Kunzite

    Member

  • Members
  • 487 posts

Posted 30 August 2013 - 11:53 AM

Brigg, one of my heroes, is playing her. Her stamina is insane! But she moves slow. Seeing that bright blaze can only move four spaces a turn really will help Challara's heroic feat MUCH more useful. I think she is a powerful hero. Her health is good, Stamina is awesome and her attributes are fairly spaced. She is being played as a geomancer. THAT is a powerful class. I am glad to hear Bright Blaze isn't as speedy as we have been letting him be.


"Bide your time and hold out hope."

~Count of Monte Cristo

 

NotesFromTheOverlord.tumblr.com





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS