Jump to content



Photo

Win a battle but retreted units


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Racuul

Racuul

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 29 August 2013 - 11:31 AM

Hello
I need your knowledge
For example:
You got 7 units and the enemy 3
You win the battle but the enemy caused 3of you hnits to retreat
Does this 3 unita also walk into the conquered hex?
If not - where do they belong?

Also:
If you take for example 12 units and win (withou any loses,. ). Do the units flee because kf the maximum in a hex(8)?
In addition: do the need to flee into a besided own hex?

Next question: if a hero doesn't succeed with a quest (ie) and the condition of the quest card tells you the hero do retreat (flee), what happens with the hero exactly?

Last question:
If you play with the expansion und you have the commander also take place in a battle.
Ic yiu lose the battle (and every own unit has been destroyed) does the commander also die?

Thank you all in advance for your input!!

#2 sigmazero13

sigmazero13

    Rules Geek

  • Members
  • 1,896 posts

Posted 30 August 2013 - 10:42 AM

1) Note that there is a difference between "routing" and "retreating".  Retreating mid-battle is pretty rare (mostly from the Sorceress ability).  If units RETREAT during battle, they don't stay in the target hex after the battle.

 

If units are just routed, they will remain in the hex after the battle.  Remember, when starting a battle, you move all your units into the area and start the battle.  The winner stays there, the loser leaves.  So if the winner has some routed units, they will remain, but they will stay routed in the area until next year (and they won't participate in future battles while routed)

 

 

2) Yes, anything in excess of 8 would have to retreat.  If there is a friendly hex adjacent, you MUST retreat there; if not, you can retreat the extra units to any empty adjacent hex.  If there are no legal places to retreat the excess units just die.

 

 

3) If a quest tells a hero to retreat, you just move him to any adjacent area (friendly or not) and turn him on his side.

 

 

4) The commander will retreat as if he were a unit.  If he was already routed, or if there is no place to retreat, then he will die.  The commander will retreat even if all the normal units were killed.



#3 Racuul

Racuul

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 31 August 2013 - 06:15 AM

Thank you for your info

In the special case of the sorcerer's ability, does the unit really leave the combat instantly?
Because your answer sounds like that these units are not just rooted as usual.

Or do you mean the unit is retreated as usual in battle but isn't able to walk into the conquered hex if the battle is won

#4 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,570 posts

Posted 31 August 2013 - 11:07 AM

In the special case of the sorcerer's ability, does the unit really leave the combat instantly?
Because your answer sounds like that these units are not just rooted as usual.

 

Retreat means to move a unit to an adjacent friendly or empty hex and then rout them.  You must pick a friendly hex over an empty hex if both options are available.  Also, all units must retreat to the same hex, so if you have too many units for the target hex to support, the excess are destroyed.

 

Rout means to tip the unit over in the hex it currently occupies.

 

Most combat effects cause units to rout, meaning they tip over but stay in the hex where combat is occuring.  The Sorceress ability causes a specific unit to retreat, meaning it leaves the hex immediately (mid-battle) and routs in the hex it retreated to.

 

Or do you mean the unit is retreated as usual in battle but isn't able to walk into the conquered hex if the battle is won

 

 

Attacking units must enter the hex to initiate the battle.  It is not the attacker who "enters the conquered hex if the battle is won."  Is it the loser who leaves the hex.  The loser's units are forced to retreat from the hex, and are routed when they arrive wherever they retreated to.  Or they are destroyed if they have nowhere to retreat.

 

Normally, if an already routed unit is forced to retreat it is simply destroyed.  However, there is an exception that units which are routed during a battle are allowed to retreat if they lose the battle, and they simply remain routed in the hex they retreated to.



#5 sigmazero13

sigmazero13

    Rules Geek

  • Members
  • 1,896 posts

Posted 31 August 2013 - 09:01 PM

It's worth noting that when the attacker is forced to retreat (if they lose the battle, or get hit by a Sorceress ability), they do not have to retreat to a hex that they came from; they can retreat to any friendly hex adjacent (or any empty hex, if there are no friendly hexes).






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS