Jump to content



Photo

Hero wording clarification


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Inkstainedgwyn

Inkstainedgwyn

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 25 August 2013 - 10:55 PM

I know this must be a no-brainer, because I can't find information anywhere about it, but I was wondering about the difference between "hero" and "treated like a hero". I understand that it means they have the same LOS/movement effects (except when stated otherwise). However, there are other things that specifically trigger off of or target "heroes", do they also work on creatures that are "treated like heroes"?

The specific scenario for this is as follows:

 

Castle Daerion

 

We have militiamen, who are "treated like heroes." The OL wishes to play critical blow (which states that it is to be used on a "hero"). Does this work on a militia? One faction at the table felt that "treated like heroes" meant only for movement purposes (otherwise, wouldn't the OL be drawing more and more cards for each of the militia "heroes" (please, no)?) The other faction felt that, no, "treated like heroes" should mean that they can be attacked with anything that says it can be played on a hero.

 

Which is right? It seems like a trifling matter (I really don't feel like our militia were very heroic at all because they kept whiffing left and right), however this is a wording that I'd like cleared up because I can see other situations in which it might come into play.

 

Thanks in advance!



#2 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 26 August 2013 - 12:15 AM

As the militia are defeated and not knocked out (with the possibility of reviving), and the OL only draws a card when a hero is knocked out, the OL does not draw a card when a militaman is defeated.

 

See p. 15 of the rules, where KO is an additional effect to defeat, and specific to the heroes :

 

Knocked Out
When a hero is defeated, he immediately suffers fatigue up to his Stamina, damage up to his Health (if defeated by some other effect), and the controlling player removes his figure from the map, replacing it with one of his hero tokens. The hero player discards any Condition cards he has and the overlord player may immediately draw one Overlord card.

 

In the special rules about Militiamen (Quest book p. 7), it is sait that "They cannot recover (heart) by any means, they are immune to all conditions, and they aucomatical!y fail any attribure test."

That logically excludes any revive/stand up possibility - thus does not allow the application of KO status

 


Edited by Robin, 26 August 2013 - 12:20 AM.

An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#3 Inkstainedgwyn

Inkstainedgwyn

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 26 August 2013 - 08:19 AM

Thanks for that clarification! So, they are actually heroes for anything that says it can be used on heroes?



#4 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 26 August 2013 - 10:46 AM

Thanks for that clarification! So, they are actually heroes for anything that says it can be used on heroes?

If I understand correctly, yes.

I don't believe, for an example that they could search or use items, for an example.

But the OL can play any tricky card on them, I believe.


An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#5 Husker949

Husker949

    Member

  • Members
  • 83 posts

Posted 26 August 2013 - 11:45 AM

 

If I understand correctly, yes.

I don't believe, for an example that they could search or use items, for an example.

But the OL can play any tricky card on them, I believe.

 

You are correct with both statements.


  • Robin likes this

#6 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,415 posts

Posted 26 August 2013 - 07:08 PM

Officially, a figure which is "treated like a hero" is considered to be a hero for all attacks (ie: he can target and be targeted by monsters), abilities and the playing of OL cards.  This is all.  The militia men specifically say they cannot recover hearts, but normally a figure treated as a hero could be targeted by healing abilities that work on heroes.


  • Robin likes this




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS