Jump to content



Photo

Questions about WaW


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 tbrichter

tbrichter

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 24 August 2013 - 03:05 PM

I've played a few games of Civilization with the WaW expansion and a few questions have come up.

 

First we ran into issues with the order in which actions are resolved at the Start of Turn phase, specifically:

 

1. When using the expansionism social policy on a start of turn where you're planning on building a city, do you use expansionism's ability first to collect the trade and then found the city or do you found the city first then collect the trade from expansionism?

 

2.  Similarly with Pacifism when you have the Hanging Gardens and you currently have no scouts on the map, can you build a scout with the Hanging Gardens first and then use Pacifism's ability to collect trade or do you do it the other way around, Pacifism first and then the Hanging Gardens?

 

3.  Fundamentalism, Feudalism, and Democracy all have abilities which are used at the start of turn, can you use the ability and then change to another government or do you have to change without using the old government's ability?

 

Second, is a question about one of the city states.  It's the one that looks like an Asian building which has a circle with a question mark in it.  Does this mean the player can use his capital to harvest any market resource from this city state as long as he is in control of it?

 

Finally I was wondering since the square a scout is sitting on is considered to be in the outskirts of a city, can you built a figure there like you would in the outskirts around the city token?


Edited by tbrichter, 24 August 2013 - 03:18 PM.


#2 Itchi

Itchi

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 25 August 2013 - 04:51 AM

1. You take action during SoT in the order you want. -> You can first build your city and then take expansionism trade bonus. Same if you have Pacifism and a Scout, you can take your Pacifism bonus (+2 cultures) and then build a City with the Scout. 

 

2. Same as above (1.) In the order you want. 

 

3. This is the biggest issue of W&W... Double-dip government... It was unofficialy stated that a player can only get the bonus of one government per turn... But this cause a lot of troubles and is quite impossible to solve... Pyramids allow you to change as many as you want of gov... -> You can take all gov bonus during SoT, what is clearly overpowered... What we do in our group is rotate the Gov card of a player that took a gov "direct" bonus -> He can change but will not get the "direct" bonus of any new gov he will take in the same SoT. The only problem with that solution is that some government have permanent bonus (Despotism +1 hammer, Democracy +1 Coin, Fundamentalism +4 Combat bonus) - >the player can get a little double-dip government bonus but this is not that powerfull compare with the possibility of getting a free resource, +2 trade, fre Culture, and then an extra City action during CM... 

 

4. The resource with a "?" on it allows you to harvests any avaliable resource from the market : a Silk, a Wheat, an Iron or an Incense. 

 

5. You cannot build an Army on the square of a Scout... This possibility is only avaliable for City-States. 



#3 Itchi

Itchi

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 25 August 2013 - 04:53 AM

Here is an Unofficial faq of W&W that can help you to go trought the game faster :

 

http://boardgamegeek...1024510/ww-ufaq



#4 tbrichter

tbrichter

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 26 August 2013 - 06:35 PM

Thanks.  That faq will help a lot.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS