Jump to content



Photo

Dance With the Dragons - How Quentin Martell card works exactly?


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Johneleth

Johneleth

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 18 August 2013 - 11:51 AM

Hi everyone,

 

I have some issues with one of the house cards from the Dance with the dragons expansion. I do not understand completely how Quentin Martell house card works exactly. The card's ability is:

 

"For each card in your discard pile this card gains +1 combat strength"

 

How I imagine this, if I play this card out this gives plus one combat strength to all discarded cards, and when I get those cards back which were boosted by this ability, they get the+1 combat strength until they will be discarded again.

 

Problem with this effect is if - lets say - I play this out in as a third card or fourth or whenever, then I have to divide my house cards, which were boosted up by this ability and which were not... It is not a huge problem to be honest but makes the things a bit more complicate.

 

My other interpretation was, this boost effects only until the card is in the discard pile, so when I get them back this effect worth nothing anymore but in this case the card would be totally useless.

 

Any thoughts?

 

Thanks in advance!


Edited by Johneleth, 18 August 2013 - 11:53 AM.


#2 kauai1964

kauai1964

    Member

  • Members
  • 425 posts

Posted 18 August 2013 - 02:09 PM

1. You play Quentin during a combat.

 

2. You count the number of cards in your discard pile (not including Quentin, because he is in play).

 

3. You add +1 to Quentin's combat strength for each card in your discard pile.

 

4. Resolve combat.

 

5. Discard Quentin.

 

6. Nothing else happens with Quentin -- he is now in your discard pile, and his text no longer applies at all.  No other cards are affected by Quentin's text in any way.


  • Johneleth likes this

#3 Johneleth

Johneleth

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 29 August 2013 - 08:46 AM

Hi Kauai,

 

Thanks for the answer, Totally makes sense now. I misunderstood the meaning of "for" in this case.

 

Thanks again!






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS