Jump to content



Photo

OL Relic Question


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 daboomer

daboomer

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 14 August 2013 - 03:41 PM

A 'quest' is made up of one or more 'encounters'. In several 'quests' made up of more than one 'encounter' a Lieutenant is only present on the map for some of the 'encounters'.  The rules for relics states: "If the overlord has no lieutenant in a given quest, ... he receives no benefit for the relic's abilities."  In that rule, is the word "quest" meant to be the word "encounter" or are relic abilities available during encounters that do not contain a lieutenant as long as the lieutenant appears in one of the quest's encounters?

 

Thanks for the ruling.



#2 AltWren

AltWren

    Member

  • Members
  • 100 posts

Posted 14 August 2013 - 03:46 PM

I'd have to guess the word should be encounter.  Unless the Lieutenant is present, I can't see the relic working.



#3 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,608 posts

Posted 14 August 2013 - 05:25 PM

It should probably be "encounter," although it's worth noting that only LTs (or heroes) can equip relics, and a relic, as an item, does need to be equipped in order to be used.  So, even if you choose to believe the relic "exists" in the encounter that has no LT, there's no one the OL can give that relic to in order to use its abilities anyway.

 

Some people argue, not without merit, that the OL must choose his relics for each LT at the beginning of the quest, even though they won't come into play until the second encounter if the corresponding LT is not in play for the first.


Edited by Steve-O, 14 August 2013 - 05:26 PM.


#4 Krawallburste

Krawallburste

    Member

  • Members
  • 108 posts

Posted 18 October 2013 - 08:41 AM

i'll just post it in here:

 

if i play, lets say cardinals plight, 2nd encounter - i do get to choose sir merrick farrow, lets say equipped with the fortunas dice.

 

he wont be present on the map till the door to the library is opened (the second wave)

i still get to use the fortunas dice every turn, right?

even if farrow is not on the map?



#5 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 484 posts

Posted 18 October 2013 - 08:47 AM

if i play, lets say cardinals plight, 2nd encounter - i do get to choose sir merrick farrow, lets say equipped with the fortunas dice.

 

he wont be present on the map till the door to the library is opened (the second wave)

i still get to use the fortunas dice every turn, right?

even if farrow is not on the map?

 

Correct. (I have it on authority from FFG, though I haven't gotten around to posting it on the official FFG Sez)

 

If the lieutenant is present in the quest but not yet placed (due to quest rules) relics with effects not related to movement/actions/whatever of that lieutenant may be used (such as Bones of Woe).


#6 evilhead

evilhead

    Member

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 10 January 2014 - 01:50 AM

Well get crackin'.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS