Jump to content



Photo

Can I build ships in the area w/ ports?


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 SuperHero304

SuperHero304

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 14 August 2013 - 05:16 AM

Hi there!

 

Can I build ships in the area w/ ports?



#2 Baratheon1

Baratheon1

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 14 August 2013 - 05:30 AM

Hi buddy!

 

Yes, you can muster ships in the area with ports, BUT you cannot muster ships in adjacent sea area if you don't have a port in there.

 

We can find this statement in the rules:

 
"Ship units, like other units, are mustered by an area containing 
a Castle or Stronghold. Unlike other unit types, however, Ship units 
may only be placed in a port connected to the mustering area or in an 
adjacent sea area"

"If the land area connected to a Port musters new units, the 

player may muster Ship units directly in the Port itself or in the 
adjacent sea area."

 

I hope it helps :)



#3 kauai1964

kauai1964

    Member

  • Members
  • 411 posts

Posted 15 August 2013 - 10:01 AM

First, off, let me clarify that this post is in the wrong Forum -- It should be in Board Game, not Card Game.

 

BUT you cannot muster ships in adjacent sea area if you don't have a port in there.

 

 

Sorry, but this is completely wrong.  The correct answer is YES, you MAY Muster in any sea area adjacent to a land area containing a castle or stronghold.  A port is NOT neccessary.

 

The primary purpose of a Port is to enable you to Muster even if the adjacent sea area is occupied by an enemy (in the 1st Edition, players were too easily locked out of the seas for the rest of the game after losing one sea battle).

 

You MAY Muster ships in The West Summer Sea, The Sea of Dorne, Blackwater Bay, Ironman's Bay, The Sunset Sea, and the Shivering Sea.  You may Muster ships in other sea areas, even if you don't control a port next to the area in question.

 

"Ship units, like other units, are mustered by an area containing
a Castle or Stronghold. Unlike other unit types, however, Ship units
may only be placed in a port connected to the mustering area or in an
adjacent sea area (see page 25 for more detail on ports).

If a Castle or Stronghold area has no port or eligible adjacent sea

areas, no Ship units can be mustered there."

 

Either/Or -- EITHER a Port OR adjacent Sea Area (adjacent to the Castle/Stronghold, not the Port).  Just ask yourself, "Is there an eligible (not occupied by enemy ships) adjacent sea area?"  If the answer is "yes", you may Muster there.


Edited by kauai1964, 15 August 2013 - 10:32 AM.





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS