Can I build ships in the area w/ ports?
Jump to content
Posted 14 August 2013 - 05:30 AM
Yes, you can muster ships in the area with ports, BUT you cannot muster ships in adjacent sea area if you don't have a port in there.
We can find this statement in the rules:
"If the land area connected to a Port musters new units, the
I hope it helps
Posted 15 August 2013 - 10:01 AM
First, off, let me clarify that this post is in the wrong Forum -- It should be in Board Game, not Card Game.
BUT you cannot muster ships in adjacent sea area if you don't have a port in there.
Sorry, but this is completely wrong. The correct answer is YES, you MAY Muster in any sea area adjacent to a land area containing a castle or stronghold. A port is NOT neccessary.
The primary purpose of a Port is to enable you to Muster even if the adjacent sea area is occupied by an enemy (in the 1st Edition, players were too easily locked out of the seas for the rest of the game after losing one sea battle).
You MAY Muster ships in The West Summer Sea, The Sea of Dorne, Blackwater Bay, Ironman's Bay, The Sunset Sea, and the Shivering Sea. You may Muster ships in other sea areas, even if you don't control a port next to the area in question.
"Ship units, like other units, are mustered by an area containing
a Castle or Stronghold. Unlike other unit types, however, Ship units
may only be placed in a port connected to the mustering area or in an
adjacent sea area (see page 25 for more detail on ports).
If a Castle or Stronghold area has no port or eligible adjacent sea
areas, no Ship units can be mustered there."
Either/Or -- EITHER a Port OR adjacent Sea Area (adjacent to the Castle/Stronghold, not the Port). Just ask yourself, "Is there an eligible (not occupied by enemy ships) adjacent sea area?" If the answer is "yes", you may Muster there.
Edited by kauai1964, 15 August 2013 - 10:32 AM.