Actually, this didn't just happen to me....but it nearly did.
If, say, Joe is the 4th player to act on the set up? His starting items entitle him to a .45.
As it happened, Mandy drew a .45. When I flicked through the deck, I found - thankfully - there was a 2nd one. But supposing this had been drawn by another player before we got to Joe? (or if there is an investigator entitled to a card of which there is only one and it is previously randomly drawn?)
I guess the fair thing to do is to insist that the investigator who draw the last remaining specified item at random (e.g. the 2nd .45 in the core game) returns this to the deck and draws again, thereby ensuring that all investigators do actually start with their specified items.
My fallback was to give Joe the .38.
I can't find anything in any FAQ about this, so advice appreciated.
And thanks too for the very warm welcome on this forum!
Am loving this game already :-)