Jump to content



Photo

Elven Boots


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 sador42

sador42

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 08 August 2013 - 08:09 AM

We played Masquerade Ball last night and had a good discussion regarding the ELVEN BOOTS that Grisban bought during the previous shopping phase.

 

The boots say they grant "1 Movement Point at the start of your turn".

 

Q. Does this mean he has a FREE movement point that does not need to be part of an ACTION to use, similar to using a fatigue to move?

 

Or,

 

Q. Does this mean he receives +1 speed on his first action if it is a move action, thus giving Grisbad a 4 movement points instead of his normal 3, only if he decides to move as his first action?



#2 RagsMckay

RagsMckay

    Member

  • Members
  • 57 posts

Posted 08 August 2013 - 08:33 AM

Sounds like he gets 1 move point similar to spending a fatigue to gain a movement point.


I die...A lot.


#3 ZXTR

ZXTR

    Member

  • Members
  • 86 posts

Posted 08 August 2013 - 08:34 AM

As written, you get 1 movement point, so you can move 1 square and perform 2 actions. Your speed is remain unchanged.



#4 sador42

sador42

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 08 August 2013 - 09:57 AM

Thanks for the quick responses. This is how our group agreed to use the abilities as well.

 

We just wanted to get some consensus - thanks!



#5 Ser Folly

Ser Folly

    Member

  • Members
  • 238 posts

Posted 18 May 2014 - 05:38 AM

As written, you get 1 movement point, so you can move 1 square and perform 2 actions. Your speed is remain unchanged.

 

Sorry to put this one on the fire again...

 

Does this ElvenBootsMovementPoint have to be spend directly when granted (i.e. at the start of the characters turn)?

 

There was some discussion as our healer wanted to heal first and then spent his EBMP. As the rules say that you cannot use 'during your turn' effects at 'the start of your turn', I said you can't do anything else before spending the Movementpoint.

 

What do you think?


Descent - Star Wars LCG - Netrunner - X-Wing - Arkham Horror - Elder Sign - Battlestar Galactica - Warhammer: Diskwars - Kingsburg - Edge of the Empire - Civilization - Bloodbowl Teammanager - Rune Age - Letters from Whitechapel - Cadwallon - Lord of the Rings LCG ... looks like I love FFG stuff :huh:


#6 BentoSan

BentoSan

    Member

  • Members
  • 390 posts

Posted 18 May 2014 - 07:17 AM

You gain a movement point, movement points can be spent at any time during your turn (but do not accumulate and pass onto the next round). Thus you can spend it at the end of your turn or any time in between if you wanted.

 

If your standing adjacent to a monster you can do a movement action, attack, then move. Movement points do not need to be spent before they are interrupted by another action - totally legal move.


Edited by BentoSan, 18 May 2014 - 07:18 AM.


#7 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,638 posts

Posted 18 May 2014 - 09:13 AM

If your standing adjacent to a monster you can do a movement action, attack, then move. Movement points do not need to be spent before they are interrupted by another action - totally legal move.


Agreed.

The MP granted by Elven Boots is gained at the start of the hero's turn, but it doesn't need to be spent then. Like all MPs (including fatigue MPs, btw), you can gain them early and wait until later to spend them. The only catch is that they don't carry over to next turn, so if you end your turn without spending them, they're forfeit.

 

This is why heroes who are worried about Pit Trap can spend 1 fatigue to make sure they have an extra MP in the pool before the card gets dropped on them, but they CANNOT spend 1 fatigue to gain an MP in response to the card being played. If the unspent MP is already in your movement pool, you're good, but once the card is played it has to be resolved before anything else happens.

 

The only time that EB's "start of turn" timing would come into play is if there was effect that triggered when your hero gained an MP. Such an effect would need to be resolved during your hero's "start of turn." I can't think of any such effects off the top of my head, btw. All the ones I know trigger when the hero spends an MP, or moves into/out of an empty/adjacent space. Those effects obviously trigger when you're actually using the MP, which may be later in the turn.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS