Sometimes searching forums is really helpful, because today I played the game the first time and we had the very same discussion about how to resolve "Triumph" in the face of a "Threat". But in fact: your discussion does not provide full support on the questions we had.
The netto dice-role we had during gameplay was like this:
which actually means or translates into:
That's the surface of things.
In our playgroup we got into a serious and long discussion, because neither ther game-material for starters (the new beginners box or whatever it is called) nor the core rulebook for Star Wars: Edge of the Empire really prove to be reliable sources to get a clear picture about how to solve "Triumh" vs. "Threat".
All the prepared and ready-to-play characters show a brief summary of all six different dice-results. And there you find this wording für "Advantage" and "Triumph":
"Advantage * symbols indicate a positive side effect or consequence,..."
"Triumph" * symbols count as Success * symbols and may also be spent to trigger a powerful positive consequence."
(page 2 of each character sheet)
And when you look into the core rulebook (I don't have it at my place now, but I recall this:), you will find a description for "Triumph" telling you that "Triumph" is basically a more powerful version of "Advantage" with a stronger narrative outcome.
But what does this mean in relation to "Threats"?
a) You could argue that "Advantages" and "Threats" are a completely different category of dice-results, which require you to treat those dice-results seperately from the other catgory of dice, which would be "Triumph" and "Despair". You could support this position with the concept that "Advantages" and "Threats" nullify each other, while "Triumphs" and "Despairs" stand alone and keep existing, no matter what.
b) On the contrary you could say: Since "Advantages" and "Triumphs" are described as being or triggering "positive consequences", there is no need to give them different understandings. Actually there is no solid reason why "triggering a positive consequence" with a "Triumph" should not be able to nullify a single "Threat", because this would make the "Triumph" inferior to an "Advantage" although it is meant to be more powerful than an "Advantage". Only a weak, but still supportive additional argument would be that the whole dice-mechanics of SW - EtoE aim at simplification, which would render a hard distinction between "Advantage" and "Triumph" unreasonable.
In other words: There are two very different readings or possible understandings how to relate "Triumphs" to "Threats" (and thus "Despairs" to "Advantages") and thus solve the above-mentioned dice-result - and both in my opinion would be equally valid. In order to get back into playing again we decided to rule it as described in b). We did not feel very comfortable with this solution, but we had the same amount of doubts about solution a) and just decided a "gamers friendly" outcome.
So I humbly ask you to consider these two differing thoughts and to offer aid in order to find the "right" solution; I especially address the game-designers with this question for clarification on this one.
In short: Does a single "Triumph" nullify a single "Threat" like a single "Advantage" nullifies a single "Threat"?
Thank you very much in advance.
Edited by MaddockKrug, 27 December 2013 - 11:09 PM.