Jump to content



Photo

Shield of Zorek's favor


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 pyrefly1986

pyrefly1986

    Member

  • Members
  • 24 posts

Posted 03 August 2013 - 08:25 AM

My group and I are having a dispute about this item.

 

The text reads:

 

"Each time an attack targeting this lieutenant is resolved and he is not defeated, he tests [might]. If he passes, the attacker suffers 1 [heart] for each [shield] rolled on this test"

 

My group says this is ability is too Overpowered the way I am running it and it is impossible for them to win at this point.

 

My ruling on the card is that any time someone targets the lieutenant, hit or miss, complete block or full damage, the overlord gets to test his lieutenan'ts [might] to see if he causes damage back. The only loop hole I see is if a attack causes blast damage next to the lieutenant would be the only way to avoid the use of this artifact.

 

Am I wrong in my ruling in that the player should at least cause some damage to activate this artifacts "thorn-like" attack?

 

Thoughts??, and thank you



#2 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 03 August 2013 - 08:33 AM

There is no mention of the obligation of damage to be scored for Zorek's shield to harm the attackers.
The only condition is the resolution of an attack (whatever the effect).
The only occasion where I would say the relic does not work is when a "X" is rolled, as the attack is not resolved in such a case.

Edited by Robin, 03 August 2013 - 08:35 AM.

An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#3 pyrefly1986

pyrefly1986

    Member

  • Members
  • 24 posts

Posted 03 August 2013 - 09:48 AM

But, the player targeted the lieutenant, he rolled the attack, he missed (X)...attack resolved, shield activates...

 

He targeted him and attacked. I don't see anywhere in the rules where a X does not resolve the attack



#4 AltWren

AltWren

    Member

  • Members
  • 100 posts

Posted 03 August 2013 - 12:57 PM

Your interpretation seems correct to me, Pyrefly.  I see no reason why a miss or blocked damage would result in an attack not being resolved.



#5 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 03 August 2013 - 04:16 PM

An X annulates any further effects of an attack - which is not the case when damage is countered by shields.
An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#6 AltWren

AltWren

    Member

  • Members
  • 100 posts

Posted 03 August 2013 - 04:37 PM

This is not an effect of an attack though, but rather a separate effect triggered by the resolution of an attack.  In the case of an X, the attack is resolved as a miss and further effects such as regaining fatigue from surges generated from the roll are ignored.  However, this ability is separate from the attack roll results and should be triggered regardless.


Edited by AltWren, 03 August 2013 - 04:39 PM.


#7 Kunzite

Kunzite

    Member

  • Members
  • 542 posts

Posted 03 August 2013 - 05:21 PM

the sheild would discourage heroes from hitting him. Isn't that the point since the sheild it's self doesn't help block anything in of it's own? I think it should effect even if the attack missed. He was the target.


"Bide your time and hold out hope."

~Count of Monte Cristo

 

NotesFromTheOverlord.tumblr.com


#8 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 04 August 2013 - 01:55 AM

I understand the shade between miss and not resolved.
p. 10 of the rules say : "If an X is rolled on the blue attack die, the attack is considered a miss and all other results are ignored."

The problem, for me, is that the X seems to ask that any other results (including shields rolled by the defender) are ignored.

But I definitely don't have the absolute answer to the question (especially as I seem to be in the minority). ;) 
I would consider it an interesting question to ask FFG about.


An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#9 SouLx

SouLx

    Member

  • Members
  • 39 posts

Posted 04 August 2013 - 02:53 AM

I understand the shade between miss and not resolved.
p. 10 of the rules say : "If an X is rolled on the blue attack die, the attack is considered a miss and all other results are ignored."

The problem, for me, is that the X seems to ask that any other results (including shields rolled by the defender) are ignored.

But I definitely don't have the absolute answer to the question (especially as I seem to be in the minority). ;) 
I would consider it an interesting question to ask FFG about.

 

The thing is, you are correct, the attack is considered a miss. Nothing further happens with the attack. It's done. It has resolved. 
Now, an attack has resolved against the lieutenant equipped with the Shield of Zorek's Favor. The attack did not defeat him, and now the effect on the shield begins. (Test might, and if the lieutenant passes, the attacker takes hearts equal to the shields rolled for the test, not the defense roll.)

 


  • Robin likes this

#10 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 04 August 2013 - 06:04 AM

I understand the shade between miss and not resolved.
p. 10 of the rules say : "If an X is rolled on the blue attack die, the attack is considered a miss and all other results are ignored."
The problem, for me, is that the X seems to ask that any other results (including shields rolled by the defender) are ignored.
But I definitely don't have the absolute answer to the question (especially as I seem to be in the minority). ;) 
I would consider it an interesting question to ask FFG about.

 
The thing is, you are correct, the attack is considered a miss. Nothing further happens with the attack. It's done. It has resolved. 
Now, an attack has resolved against the lieutenant equipped with the Shield of Zorek's Favor. The attack did not defeat him, and now the effect on the shield begins. (Test might, and if the lieutenant passes, the attacker takes hearts equal to the shields rolled for the test, not the defense roll.)
Ah I now see.
Thanks for the explanations !
An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS