Jump to content



Photo

another round of questions


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Krawallburste

Krawallburste

    Member

  • Members
  • 112 posts

Posted 26 July 2013 - 06:00 PM

was a little afraid this would be lost in the forum by ppl just overreading it with some "meh, just another answer to the old questions", so here the new questions that came up (wheeeee <3)

 

1) something that buggs me for some time now is how the crossbows 2nd surge ability works on large monsters. do they just get moved 1 space, do they get despawned and respawned, just as if a move action was declared on them? 

 -> what happens if the heroes intend to move the large monster in a 1 space narrow passage, will it get respawned at the next possible space, or is the action just not just?

 

2) when a hero is knocked out his only action may be a stand up action. but what about heroic feats, that dont need to be an action? (astarra, mok, etc.)

 

3) a rly specific situation came up when a friend of mine played reynhardt of the worthy as a beastmaster. he rolled an X and asked, if he could reroll the die the wolf rolled, using reynhardts passive. the argumentation was that he (as a person) did roll the dice, ergo should be allowed to reroll them through the passive. Counterposition was, that the passive works for reynhardt, not other figures controlled by him (u could reroll npc rolls 2 if u were the 1 to roll the dice, wont u?)

so which position is right?

 

ty for ur time and patience

 

urs

 

krawallbuerste



#2 SouLx

SouLx

    Member

  • Members
  • 39 posts

Posted 26 July 2013 - 06:45 PM

1) You follow the same rules for moving large monsters, as you are moving it one space. So you would choose one of the spaces that the base occupies, (To define where you're moving from.) remove the monster from the map, then move one space and place it back on the map expanding in any direction that the monster could fit. (The orientation of the monster is decided by the player moving the figure.)

-> The monster would be placed in the closest empty space that it could fit into and expand from.

 

2) When you are knocked out, you may not take a move action or spend fatigue to add movement points to your movement pool, so you couldn't spend a movement point to activate her heroic ability. (In regards to Astarra's heroic ability.) 

In addition to that, when a hero is knocked out they are treated as if they are not on the map. Meaning you wouldn't be able to count spaces. (To choose a hero to be placed adjacent to, for example with Astarra.)

 

3) The wording on this one is very tricky, and I can only take a guess at this, based on similar wording. 

The item 'Mana Weave' states; "After rolling attack dice, exhaust this card to add 1 surge to the results." 
You cannot exhaust it to add a surge to the attack of the wolf, even though 'you' rolled the dice. It can only be exhausted to be used in attacks made by the equipped hero. Which I believe is the same idea here. 

 

So in the end, I believe the 'you' refers to attacks made by Reynhardt the Worthy.

 

However, number three should probably be sent to Fantasy Flight Games for official clarification.

 


Edited by SouLx, 27 July 2013 - 04:07 PM.

  • Titeman likes this

#3 Krawallburste

Krawallburste

    Member

  • Members
  • 112 posts

Posted 27 July 2013 - 04:06 AM

ty for the quick reply mate =)

 

on 2nd) i actually was talking about the heroic feats, such as moks "use, to look at the overlords hand and discard a card"



#4 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,633 posts

Posted 27 July 2013 - 07:18 AM

1) something that buggs me for some time now is how the crossbows 2nd surge ability works on large monsters. do they just get moved 1 space, do they get despawned and respawned, just as if a move action was declared on them? 

 -> what happens if the heroes intend to move the large monster in a 1 space narrow passage, will it get respawned at the next possible space, or is the action just not just?

 

If I recall correctly (and it's possible that I don't), the heroes decide where the large monster moves to, but the OL decides how it expands when it's done.  There may be something about this in the unofficial FAQ on BGG.

 

The monster cannot be moved to a space where it can't expand from.

 

2) when a hero is knocked out his only action may be a stand up action. but what about heroic feats, that dont need to be an action? (astarra, mok, etc.)

 

Heroes cannot use any abilities while they are knocked out.  "Abilities" include Heroic feats, hero abilities, skills, etc.

 

Therefore you cannot use these abilities before performing the Stand Up action.  Performing the Stand Up action ends your turn as part of the action, therefore you cannot use these abilities after the Stand Up either.

 

3) a rly specific situation came up when a friend of mine played reynhardt of the worthy as a beastmaster. he rolled an X and asked, if he could reroll the die the wolf rolled, using reynhardts passive. the argumentation was that he (as a person) did roll the dice, ergo should be allowed to reroll them through the passive. Counterposition was, that the passive works for reynhardt, not other figures controlled by him (u could reroll npc rolls 2 if u were the 1 to roll the dice, wont u?)

so which position is right?

 

This reminds me of the issue with the Shadow Rune relic, where some OLs argued that it applied to all attacks the OL made (not just those made by Zachareth), because it said "your attacks."  FFG eventually ruled that it only applied to Zachareth's attacks.

 

By extenision, I would say that in general "you" refers to the figure with the ability specifically, not the controlling player. Therefore Reynhardt's ability would not apply to the wolf.

 

Another way to look at it is this: per official rules, in a two player game the hero player controls two heroes.  Does this mean Reynhardt's ability should suddenly become an "all hero" effect if he's being used in a two player game?  I'm thinking no. =P


Edited by Steve-O, 27 July 2013 - 07:21 AM.

  • Titeman likes this

#5 SouLx

SouLx

    Member

  • Members
  • 39 posts

Posted 27 July 2013 - 04:04 PM

If I recall correctly (and it's possible that I don't), the heroes decide where the large monster moves to, but the OL decides how it expands when it's done.  There may be something about this in the unofficial FAQ on BGG.

 

The monster cannot be moved to a space where it can't expand from.

 

The player moving the figure decides how it expands.



#6 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 496 posts

Posted 05 August 2013 - 10:29 AM

1) something that buggs me for some time now is how the crossbows 2nd surge ability works on large monsters. do they just get moved 1 space, do they get despawned and respawned, just as if a move action was declared on them? 

 -> what happens if the heroes intend to move the large monster in a 1 space narrow passage, will it get respawned at the next possible space, or is the action just not just?

 

FFG Clarified this a while back: The hero decides how the monster moves, but that it must shrink to and start movement from the targeted space. (If you really want to get the most out of it, you may have to target one of its rear spaces, which may be blocked by its front spaces unless you are flanking it.)



#7 RagsMckay

RagsMckay

    Member

  • Members
  • 57 posts

Posted 05 August 2013 - 11:30 AM

This is from the Adam Sez thread on BGG:

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition) » Forums » Rules
Re: "Adam Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions.

Q: I have a question about the crossbow and large monsters:

How does the 1 space movement work for large monsters? Does the hero get to shrink the monster to 1 space, move it 1 space, and then expand it in any direction the hero chooses?


A: Yes, the attacking hero chooses how the large monster moves. The large monster does indeed shrink and expand following normal monster movement. The monster shrinks from the targeted space.

 

 

You can find the thread here: http://boardgamegeek...382471#10382471


I die...A lot.


#8 centralx

centralx

    Member

  • Members
  • 80 posts

Posted 05 August 2013 - 11:59 AM

I don't have a beastmaster but it seems very similar to the Widow Tahra's ability and the faq says the reroll only applies to her attack rolls. 



#9 Daynegerous1

Daynegerous1

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 08 October 2013 - 07:29 PM

Hey Everyone,

My friends and I just got walluped by the OL in "The Desecrated Tomb" Part 2. The OL went and attacked Khoryat without using a surge. He insisted that while "Khoryat" was a shadow dragon, the card did not specify that an attack had to have a surge to hit him because the characteristics did not specifically mention it.
I think common sense would show that you need a surge. Any help?

-Dayne

#10 Kunzite

Kunzite

    Member

  • Members
  • 542 posts

Posted 08 October 2013 - 08:32 PM

Hey Everyone,

My friends and I just got walluped by the OL in "The Desecrated Tomb" Part 2. The OL went and attacked Khoryat without using a surge. He insisted that while "Khoryat" was a shadow dragon, the card did not specify that an attack had to have a surge to hit him because the characteristics did not specifically mention it.
I think common sense would show that you need a surge. Any help?

-Dayne

 

We had the same issue and we played it out as it is written. Khoryat has been stuck in there sleeping for a long time. Maybe he is rusty?


"Bide your time and hold out hope."

~Count of Monte Cristo

 

NotesFromTheOverlord.tumblr.com


#11 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,633 posts

Posted 09 October 2013 - 06:27 AM


My friends and I just got walluped by the OL in "The Desecrated Tomb" Part 2. The OL went and attacked Khoryat without using a surge. He insisted that while "Khoryat" was a shadow dragon, the card did not specify that an attack had to have a surge to hit him because the characteristics did not specifically mention it.

 

I think common sense would show that you need a surge. Any help?

-Dayne

 

"Common sense" is a dangerous thing to invoke while playing Descent.  If you start making rulings based on "common sense" you'll just keep finding more and more things to rule about, and the game balance will fall to pieces.

 

Quest rules overwrite normal rules.  If the quest says "Khorayt has these stats" and those stats don't mention the Shadow ability, then he doesn't have the Shadow ability.  Looking at Khorayt's stat block myself, I see that they did include "(Surge): Fire Breath" and "(Surge): +3 (Heart)", which are two of the three abilities of a master Shadow Dragon.  The fact that they did not include Shadow is therefore telling.

 

You can always ask FFG if you want an official answer, but I believe that your OL played correctly.  Khorayt is an individual dragon who appears to have lost his fearsome shadows somehow.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS