Jump to content



Photo

mixing (mini)expansions


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 TheHunterBoy

TheHunterBoy

    Member

  • Members
  • 156 posts

Posted 25 July 2013 - 05:08 AM

First of all: 2Ed is great!

Then the question is : LoW and the Trollfens are intended to be added (BOTH) to a main campaign or only one of them per campaign?

 



#2 Kunzite

Kunzite

    Member

  • Members
  • 487 posts

Posted 25 July 2013 - 05:24 AM

LotW can be used in addition to wither campaign. I am not sure about Trollfens, but I am guessing this will also be true. I am not sure if it's a one or the other kind of addition, but I don't see why a group couldn't play both, if Trollfen adds to the rumor deck.


"Bide your time and hold out hope."

~Count of Monte Cristo

 

NotesFromTheOverlord.tumblr.com


#3 sdh007

sdh007

    Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 25 July 2013 - 05:49 AM

Well considering FFG logic I kinda can see a pattern. They made a core box and expansion; Shadow Rune + Lair of the Wyrm expansion. Also this was a large box and a small box. Lair of the Wyrm included rumor cards to mix them with Shadow Rune

 

Then they came with Labyrinth of Ruin and this was a "big" box and had a main quest and no rumor cards. This was a seperate campaign all togheter.

 

Trolfens is gonna be a small box and so I dare to speculate that they will have some rumor cards to implement them with the core campaign Shadow Rune.

 

Also when we look at it logical it would make sense to add with each expansion rumor cards. Why? Cos you have to have the core game but they can't oblige you to purchase all expansions. So if you have the core game and only wanna purchase Trolfens as an expansion, this should match perfectly. Both in campaign as in rules obviously.

 

So they either put in a rumor card to merge Trolfens with  the Shadow Rune or they make Trolfens a complete solo campaign (like with Labyrinth of Ruin). I would prefer a combination of both :-)

 

 



#4 centralx

centralx

    Member

  • Members
  • 77 posts

Posted 25 July 2013 - 06:48 AM

I would pick up Trolfens just for the rumor cards. I really like the flavor they add and they seem to fit in perfectly. I got to pull the one where the heroes buy upside down cards at a discount during the shop phase. Just to watch them discuss the temptations of the mystery box was hilarious. 



#5 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,403 posts

Posted 26 July 2013 - 05:41 PM

I fully expect that Trollfens (and any future small box expansions) will be combinable with any large box Campaign, in the same way that Lair can be combined with either Shadow Rune or Labyrinth of Ruin.  I'm reasonably confident that all small boxes will also be playable as a "mini-campaign" the same way Lair of the Wyrm can be played as a "mini-campaign."

 

Whether two (or more!) small boxes can be added to a single large box Campaign remains to be seen.  It could go either way, but I'm leaning towards "probably not."  Just because eventually all the extra Act I quests these things add will completely break the character progression mechanic.



#6 JBouthietteJr

JBouthietteJr

    Member

  • Members
  • 56 posts

Posted 28 July 2013 - 04:31 PM

I expect that after I get Trollfens, I'll incorporate most components of it into my base game, but whenever we do a large campaign (Shadow Rune or Labyrinth of Ruin, at this point) I'd do only one small box worth of side quests. But I'd have no qualms playing my hybrid sentinels in Trollfens quests, though.



#7 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,403 posts

Posted 29 July 2013 - 07:06 AM

I expect that after I get Trollfens, I'll incorporate most components of it into my base game, but whenever we do a large campaign (Shadow Rune or Labyrinth of Ruin, at this point) I'd do only one small box worth of side quests. But I'd have no qualms playing my hybrid sentinels in Trollfens quests, though.

 

Yeah, when I talk about probably not being able to combine two small boxes into one campaign, I'm mostly referring to the quests.  Monsters, classes, heroes, et al are definitely fair game in any combination.



#8 AltWren

AltWren

    Member

  • Members
  • 100 posts

Posted 01 August 2013 - 01:49 PM

I'm thinking they will be able to be played together.  The quests are added through rumor cards, and the OL only gets three, so playing multiple expansions will reduce the chances of the right rumors showing up to start the quests.  You might put all the expansions it, but only draw the cards to start Lair.  If anything is limited, they will probably just say you can only add one additional quest an Act and to discard and redraw rumors, like the Lair cards already do.



#9 Silverhelm

Silverhelm

    Member

  • Members
  • 222 posts

Posted 01 August 2013 - 02:34 PM

Well I don't know on page 3 of Lair of worm rule book (1.) it reads "Be sure there is only one copy of "secret passage" in search deck (if playing with other exspansions)". So I'm thinking you can. Seems since small exspansions have the "secret room card" there saying if you do make sure you have only one in search deck.

But I agree seems like that might break some mechanics of development.

Edited by Silverhelm, 01 August 2013 - 02:43 PM.


#10 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 393 posts

Posted 05 August 2013 - 03:02 PM

Whether two (or more!) small boxes can be added to a single large box Campaign remains to be seen.  It could go either way, but I'm leaning towards "probably not."  Just because eventually all the extra Act I quests these things add will completely break the character progression mechanic.

I believe that somewhere on this forum (unfortunately I can't remember where off the top of my head), someone posted an email from FFG stating that using the side-quests during a regular campaign didn't grant any XP if it wasn't explicitly stated in the quest rewards; this being counter to the "1 XP / player, win or lose" rule. Granted, they could still receive Gold / Relics, but that would be, at most, 2 extra quests per act, assuming the OL drew just the right cards. Is that enough to really break character progression? Hard to say.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS